Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Magma Shuttle

by Kentiya - Jam Entry

Fly through the magma under the Earth's crust, avoiding giant rocks and trying to last as long as you can.

Controls:
Move - Arrow keys or WASD
Restart - R

Things I wanted to add but didn't have time to:
-Menu and Game music
-Saved scores
-Background images
-Better GUI elements
-Vertical panning
-Better story scene with pictures

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#361Fun(Jam)3.00
#492Graphics(Jam)3.06
#505Theme(Jam)2.88
#561Overall(Jam)2.88
#715Innovation(Jam)2.13
#1959Coolness24%

Comments

xandy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:32am

very nice little game that matches the theme :) more sound or a bit of music would have been great.

rorycooke says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:04am

I think if it started off at speed 100 and had drum and base music it would be pretty cool

May 1, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Alright little game. Art not too bad and enjoyable gameplay. Goodluck.

javifugitivo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Great runner!

BoneDaddy says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:56pm

The introduction text was very good. Set up a nice little setting. The game itself is pretty barebones, your basic avoid obstacles forever game. The controls are decent (nice slidiness to them) and the graphics are decent too. The one (I think) sound effect is fitting. The game needs variation though. Also is pretty boring until the speed picks up, but once it does it is entertaining.

Reading the comments, I think what rorycooke says would improve the game greatly. Maybe not so fast to begin with, because you don't want it to get too fast too quick. But certainly something to speed it up (maybe even powerups to speed you up/increase your score)

PixelFeet says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Admittedly, it's not particularly innovative. But it's a neat little game nonetheless, and it gets much more fun at higher speeds.

mark.goetz says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Very cool - really easy to pick up and decently challenging, too. Speeding the game up was a simple way to bump up the challenge level as you went on. I like the graphics. It lagged a bit on my machine, but not enough that it was unplayable. I was also wondering if you had considered adding in rocks that move as an additional challenge? In any case, nice work!

If you're keeping track, my score was 683.

Moosefly says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:08am

Got a bit over 1000 points. Starting at maybe 50 speed and adding music would've made the game pretty solid already, but good job anyways!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

JimmyBoh says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:45am

This is a great little game! I really like the bubbles behind the ship, very 'Game Of Life'. Definitely add more types/values of damage and maybe some sort of weapon/avoidance system? Nice job!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]