Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Ocean Deep

by TechnoWolf99 - Jam Entry

This is my game for Ludum Dare 29! I decided to use the theme, "Beneath the Surface", in two different ways.

The original idea for the game was slightly abstract; the main concept is that you are in a coma of sorts and you have to find the memory shards in order to piece your soul back together and wake up.

Everything in the game was made by me, except for the fancy font. I was gonna be entering in the compo, but I ran out of time.
Anyway, I hope you enjoy!

Built from scratch in 72 hours using FlashDevelop.

For anyone who's lost:
- There are 5 "Memory Shards" (the glowing things)
- 2 of them are behind locked doors; collecting a key opens a door

Be sure to rate!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#85Mood(Jam)3.81
#97Theme(Jam)3.74
#240Audio(Jam)3.35
#368Graphics(Jam)3.39
#482Overall(Jam)3.03
#649Humor(Jam)1.58
#680Innovation(Jam)2.26
#709Fun(Jam)2.13
#1359Coolness48%

Comments

Slader16 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:55pm

I really liked the art for the sky, great work!

rnlf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Wow, completely different. So calm and gentle. Also the colour composition is really nice.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:58pm

I realy like the whole vibe or mood

davidwparker says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:53pm

I didn't get what I was supposed to do... I kind of held the direction in different ways for a while and didn't see anything happening. Maybe a little early help?

Art style seemed on point.

Recon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:54pm

So deep. Anyway, the audio is excellent, I'm using headphones and I thought the sound coming out of my room it was really realistic. Good game!

randoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Nice mood in the game, but I think that the gameplay could be more fast paced.

andreaswitzen says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:14pm

I really liked the atmosphere! The sound and graphics worked really nicely together. I didn't finish the game though, after I found tree or four "wake up"-spheres I drifted around for a long while and found nowhere to go.

Artylo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:19pm

A really atmospheric game. I love how the cold colors, the ambient music and the subtle sound effects added up. Really, a great job.

TechnoWolf99 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:23pm

For anyone who's lost:
- There are 5 "shards" (the glowing things)
- 2 are behind locked doors; collecting a key opens a door

illugion says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Whoa i agree with Recon, the sound when the game starts seems to be in my room haha great atmosphere too ! I wish there was more to interact with

Aaants says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:57am

Nice work, it has a really good sense of scale and generally ominous aura

Cawrtz says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Nice and calm. Great atmosphere. A little slow maybe

Jools64 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Really nice looking game with a great atmosphere but it wasn't really very fun to play.

Still, nice job at conveying such a nice little world. Great work!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]