Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Box Simulator

by terraco - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Box box, box?
BOX!

UPDATE! There's now a post comp update for people to see where Box Sim could be headed.

Box simulator. Built to simulate boxes and mining trucks for up to 16 people.

Aim: BOX! Move the boxes to the depot. Move other trucks out of the way. Move more boxes.

Theme: It's very loosely based on the theme. The trucks are mining trucks. They are in a hole. They are moving boxes about. I was not in a mood for creating a deep, metaphysical philosophical view on the world to marry the theme... BECAUSE I STUCK THOSE FEELINGS INTO A BOX AND RAMMED THEM WITH A TRUCK!

Controls:
WASD, Arrows - Accelerate, brake, steer.
Space: Handbrake

Notes: Sometimes you'll be unable to host a new game due to Unity's test server being overloaded. Try again in a few minutes and your friends will be able to connect over LAN. Internet play requires you op forward a port to the PC hosting a server, just like Minecraft.

Follow me: @cernji

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#34Humor3.92
#228Audio3.31
#297Fun3.36
#625Overall3.12
#632Mood2.91
#648Innovation2.93
#712Graphics2.92
#1249Theme1.67

Comments

Infraviolet says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:27am

10/10 Game of the year
when is 2014 edition coming out?

ryebread761 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:29am

Couldn't seem to join your server (clicking connect did nothing). I did play the game however single-player. Was pretty fun.

Move127 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:30am

Quite amusing. Box Box Box Box Box

ehtd says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:31am

lol I wasn't sure what I was doing, but BOX!!!

NicoM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:38am

Strangely fun:D I had no idea what to do, so I just drove around, listening to the beautiful soundtrack;) reminds me in a weird way of carmageddon :) good job!

Zenton says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:44am

Going in I had no way of know there would be boxes, boxes/10 would box again.

SFBTom says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:46am

If you're going to play one game from LD48 this year, this should be box.

Elforama says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:49am

Those boxes, so vocal. I loved the audio in this. Box blast!

DrMelon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:49am

Had fun playing this with a friend! But I dunno what it has to do with the surface theme, haha!

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:56am

@DrMelon The theme - the boxes contain shovels and the screaming when you hit the boxes is just the shovels hurting the boxes, from beneath their surface. BOX!

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:54am

Hahahaha, box.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:36am

I sat watching the title screen, but nothing happened, and I don't see a single player option... All my life they told me I could never box, and I thought this would be my chance... but sadly, it doesn't seem to be so.

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:41am

Ah, Brian. You were clearly not thinking outside the box. To be box, one must not be box.

Host your own server and you can box.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:47am

Thank you terraco, my dream has finally been fulfilled, I can now say with pride that I was able to box box box box box box box box box boxboxboxbox

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:50am

Box be to you, young box.

Idkfawin32 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:30am

box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box

Slader16 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:32am

BOX SIMULATOR 2014!!!

shyupuff says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:32am

Didn't see how this was related to the theme but BOXESSSSS!!!!

whalebot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:34am

WTF. Box. This game deserves an award.

kirbytails7 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:34am

Box/10. Would box again.
I couldn't connect to any servers, and the camera seemed to get in weird positions. Very box, though!

Suese says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:38am

Doesn't do anything when I click 'connect'

Suese says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:42am

Doesn't do anything when I click 'connect'. Local game didn't really explain the whole thing. I'm tempted to think this game is more fun multi-player. I'm curious though, the game had absolutely nothing to do with the theme. What's up with that?

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:44am

Box, box box box... box box? box, BOX box box BOXBOX box.

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:46am

@seuss - you're right, it is really good in multiplayer. You can't experience smashing into your friends if you have none available. Also it doesn't seem to connect over the internet, only locally. My bad!

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:52am

Also, Suess... I updated the description to address your concerns.

Graf_Grun says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:07am

Audio 5/5.

John Drury says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:44am

LOL. Craziness...

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:54am

The other day me and my friends talked about the serious lack of box simulation games in the world.

We can stop worry now.

Good graphics.

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:56am

11/10 You won the LD Congrats!

Caridorc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:06am

This 'boxing' game is very strange but amusing (I did not know what I was doing but, it was FUN).

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:26am

haha always fun to goof around and drive off raps. good job. :)

Dreii says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:35am

box

r0x0r says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:55am

Can't play on linux =( i think the text it's not rendered.. http://imgur.com/OrtdTNw

spotco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:57am

glorious sound effects if I could rate those higher than 5 i would

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:58am

@r0x0r - is that in the web player or downloaded from GameJolt?

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:15am

What the hell :D

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:45am

Box, box boooxxxxx, box, box box.

SO funny XD great work.

bzizizi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:39am

Box simulator!

eskivor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:39am

Cameras and controls are weird.

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:29pm

BOOOOOX :D Lol Crazy stuff.

microapple says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Enjoyed this quite a bit. Nice sound effects. ;D Really fun physics stuff.

The menu could have been documented a bit more. A little confusing to get into a game.

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Multiplayer games are always impressive for Ludum Dare. There wasn't anyone to play with but still a cool game! And I'm glad you didn't take the theme too seriously! :)

Foofur says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Five stars for ultimate boxiness omg :D

morcosan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:39pm

well done :)

MaddeStudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:22pm

This is too good! I want a full version, with more boxes. MORE BOXES!!!

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Not sure I got how the theme fit in, but the game is a box to be reckoned with. Nice work!

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:42pm

10/10 would rofl again

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Nice, loved the sfx (boxboxboxbox) - If the controls had been a bit better, I could definitely see spending some time screwing around! Polish it up, could be the next goat simulator ;D

TowelKing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:05pm

box box box box box

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:12am

Haha. This was fun. Sadly no one was online when I was on :(

Good job, though. The sound effects are great :)

conormn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:31am

Nicely done.

CaiusTSM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:39am

lol

CoderMusgrove says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:43am

Wow, that was so amazing, all I can say is, just,
BOX!

killthealias says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:45am

FUCKING

BOX

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:53am

Really funny game. Very fun though. Just driving around in the truck hearing 'box, box, box, box, box, box...' was very funny to me. Love it, very good game.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:55am

Very interesting gameplay and graphics. Hard to hit those ramps, but very rewarding.

drnick says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:52am

This has nothing to do with the theme.

terraco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:00am

@drnick - It's ok, some people didn't understand the theme of Inception either. If you don't get it, just enjoy it.

Fortyseven says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:42am

Well, I wasn't planning on sleeping ever again anyway. ;)

ENDESGA says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:06am

Hahahahaha oh man this is so cool xD

BOX!

xbcw says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:15am

boxboxboxboxboxbox

Skywilly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:15am

Box Box Box ! Box... Box box box, box box. Box ?

terraco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:20am

Sir box boxington the box.

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:24am

Box Box Box Box Box Box Box Box Box Box Box Box.. The new Hodor? This made me laugh.

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:29am

Box of the year... But i didn't see the theme in there :D

terraco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:41am

The theme is there, you just need to look beneath the surface.

neekobus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:22am

Box ! box ! box !
Could be interesting if you show a counter of destroyed boxes, and some specials items.
Could be a mash up of "Mario Kart" (the Ballon battle) and "Pain"

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:10am

The drift is just rad!!! I had fun just destroying things, good concept!

BarkingCat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:58am

What in the... box. BOXES, doing backflips with the back of my truck full of boxes.

davidc02 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:31pm

haha

Muu? says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:54pm

I wasn't able to play online, I only played local games.
I had absolutely no idea of what I was doing and the controls were so bad they felt actually good.
On Beneath the Surface level the camera actually got beneath the surface on slopes, I had no idea of where I was going.

" Box box box box box box box box box box boxboxboxboxbox! " This only made the game 10/10.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:01pm

haha.. nice box ..good job :)

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:56pm

It's funny how you turned a limitation of the compo to a strenght for your game. Good job!

The game is also pretty fun in solo, I can only imagine what it's like with a lot of players

ioboi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Haha, the soundeffects are awesome especially the pitching :D

Crabman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Aw yeah, BOXES!

ninjabit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:40pm

Go in reverse: BOOOXX BOOOOXX BOOOOXXX lmao

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:44pm

haha, I could drive that truck all day. box, box, box, box!

Mythalore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Making an mostly multiplayer game is not a very good idea, especially online only. The game itself didn't seem to really hit the theme or be terribly engaging.

tankete says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:24pm

So games much box wow! Not really sure what I was supposed to do, but it was...interesting! :)

Roman Kornev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:27pm

LMAO Still better than most of "wub wub wub" stuff:)

calvinsm says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:50am

box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box
box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box

box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box

box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:55am

BOXES! Would you like a box with that? lol

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:34am

hahahaha this is great. This is my favorite game so far. box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box box

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:49am

Haha that was great!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:06am

The camera can be a real PITA sometimes...
But I like this :D
Also: box box box box box box box box box box box box

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Hahah such a funny game ;) Neat idea :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Ha, I see what you did there.

Neat idea! Did you make the driving yourself, or is that a premade tool? (like Jcar)

terraco says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Driving was done myself :) had trouble with the suspension in a short time so i decided to cut the springs and make it rigid as.

martinysa0311 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:27pm

Crazy Box! love trucks games... Congrats

Secret_Tunnel says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:10am

Box box box box? Box box box box!

petey123567 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:01am

Is this what they call... "Boxing"? XD

terraco says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:21am

Yes. Yes it is.

PIXEL^3 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:22am

I box, I box, and I box again. And that was just with a single box. Truly some of the most fun I've had this LD.

~AlucardX60

timtipgames says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:04am

Gotta love those boxes! Voice acting supreme, great physics, unfortunately had no one to play with :)

mrfriedfish says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:07am

really cool BOX game! great job!

TeamFlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:49am

Boxboxboxboxbox :) I had a good laugh.

ruerob says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Nuf nuf nuf. Makes a lot of fun. BOOOOOX

caranha says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:24pm

A friend recommended me this game. But it is Unity Web Plugin only, which does not work in my system :-(

I guess I'll have to BOX the game and play it later.

(Binaries, please!)

recursor says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Hilarious!

Snoother says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Okay, that was pretty damn funny. And weirdly creepy.

terraco says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Hey Caranha, there are downloads with .zip's, .exe's and all the other goodness available as well!

adamwoolridge says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Audio made me laugh! Good work :)

javifugitivo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Box box box every time!

klianc09 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:27pm

This was the best Box Simulator I ever played. There is nothing more to say.

Logun says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:25pm

You get 5 stars in audio for that truck sound :D
It's always fun to run into things, so i had fun :)

tomvert says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:09am

Sorry, I couldn't play your game, there was only one server up and nothing happened when I clicked "connect".

terraco says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:58am

Sorry to hear that Tomvert. You can play by clicking start server

cirolve says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:13am

Box!! Definitely inspired by the intentionally quirky Goat Simulator or Surgeon Simulator.

terraco says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:23am

Hey Cirolve, unfortunately I haven't played either of those games :(

May 4, 2014 @ 10:21pm

First of all I'm giving you a 5 for audio, because box. I wish I had more people to play with because this actually looks like a lot of fun. Cool stuff!

May 5, 2014 @ 3:04pm

I would love to check the source.

terraco says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 1:54am

Hey pinkmonkeyhead, source link added. Post comp link updated for those interested

Zerkruemler says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 7:34am

Strange. Took me several minutes to find the depot. Overall I don't understand the gameplay. It seems to be fun with multiplayer only.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]