Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Water Golf

by Jaenis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You got a ball floating on a pond, click on water to make a wave that pushes the ball to the flag.
Longer click makes stronger waves.

Infinite number of levels!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#45Innovation4.08
#236Fun3.44
#412Overall3.32
#582Audio2.73
#770Mood2.75
#794Graphics2.80
#1226Theme1.88
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:52am

This is more "on the surface" than "beneath the surface" but I was laughing at myself trying to figure out how to control the ball. It's appealing in sort of the way QWOP is appealing. Only real downside to me is that random level generation can cause the flag/hole to be impossible to reach.

Jaenis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:06am

Yes, that is known problem that sometimes flag might be impossible to reach. It would be possible to fix but just couldn't fit that into the compo timeframe :) So thought that just restarting the game solves the issue for now

And thanks! :)

PS
Player is beneath the water surface or that was my first take on the theme, though that is not so apparent anymore...

coquinounet says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:17am

Wow nice gameplay but as Jonochrome said, this is more on the surface but it's good ;)

Marcellus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Interesting game mechanic, trying to push a moving ball makes it act unrealistically also it's not theme based.

But this is still a very nice concept.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Theme? Meh. The gameplay is really fun, your water physics are great!

I wish you could generate some kind of "par" for each level and count the number of "ripples" it takes you - would certainly add to the challenge!

Good job on generating it randomly though, it works like a charm for me :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Cool little game, I like the general concept. It'd be nice to see an extended version with more interesting/harder levels.

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:05pm

not really sure how this fitted with the theme??

JimmyBoh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Just add some metrics (avg. time per hole, avg. clicks per hole) and this would be really fun. Also trying different types of fluid (lava, goo, etc.) for different levels would be neat. Great job!

pinion says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Liked it, it reminded me of an old mini/crazy golf game but with a different control scheme.

mjau says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:24pm

This is a really neat idea, but it's very... minimal. I guess you ran out of time.. I'd really like to play a more complete version of this though! There could be fish, waterfalls, whirlpools, currents, various mechanisms, other things making waves... tons of possibilities here =). Would probably need designed levels though

Bugs: Sometimes large-ish waves pass straight through the ball without affecting it much. Also, it generated a level where the flag and ball were in different pools, disconnected from each other.

Jaenis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Yep, I kinda ran out of time, had to drop things like stats and making sure that levels are always connected, but great ideas here, thanks! I am thinking of expanding the game...

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Very nice tech (physics and level generation) for 48 hours, but it's not much of a game yet.

daandruff says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Fun idea that worked pretty well. Would be nice to have some kind of score system or goal

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Great water effects, and well integrated in to the game play. Audio sounds a bit to MIDI:ish for my taste. Nice to see a C++ game also!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:14am

Good job on the water physics. I like how you even have reflection on the terrain.

As for the theme, it fits loosely. And for all we know, we could actually be blowing up (small) underwater charges. Which would be, y'know... "beneath the surface".

GarethIW says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Man, this game really gets addictive after you get used to the slightly janky physics. Are the holes randomly generated? I played for a good 20 mins without seeing two the same!

almosoka says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 3:40am

it says "failed to compile"

brayzengames says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 10:52am

I like this take on physics. I haven't seen this before (using waves to affect the game world). Other than the dodgy level design (I managed 3 levels before getting an impossible course) this has potential!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]