Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Other Side

by WhiteAppleX - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I like triangles, TRIANGLES ARE FUN !!
Your goal is to touch the rectangle above the surface to make their hexagonals ghosts under the surface become a random convex shape and you win when the ghost is A TRIANGLE !!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#646Audio2.60
#730Innovation2.83
#803Theme2.96
#972Humor1.81
#1135Mood2.18
#1153Graphics2.14
#1193Fun2.00
#1199Overall2.33
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:23pm

wasn't really sure what to do

WhiteAppleX says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Yeeeaahh that's the concept! x)

WhiteAppleX says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:13pm

(and this concept sux of course)

Hob623 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:53am

The concept is interesting, although it could stand to be developed a bit more. The idea of switching between above and beneath the surface to do different things was especially cool, but it could be hard to tell what effect one had on the other. The controls are a bit hard to get used too, although that might just be a difference in keyboards. The music sets an eerie mood, especially beneath the surface, and the way the rectangles get less and less organized could build up to something too, if you want to improve on this in the future. Overall, nice work~

WhiteAppleX says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Yeah I know, it's my first participation ^^'
And for controls I'm sorry, I use an European AZERTY keyboard so my ZQSD is your WASD x_x
I won't improve this game, I didn't organize the code so it would be awful and I have other projects, thx for the feedback :)

vilya says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Sorry but on an English keyboard those controls are horrible. Why not use the arrow keys?

I didn't actually manage to figure out what I was supposed to do, but at least there was some nice atmospheric music to listen to while I tried!

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:10pm

as noted the controls are difficult for some keyboards - consider using the dedicated arrow keys next time?

didn't figure out what was going on but it looks and sounds pretty nice :)

dertom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Hehe,...ok! That was kind of a psychodelic game :D I do like the mood even though I didn't understand how exactly both screens influence each other,...but it was obivious that they do. Interesting game!

bentog says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Can't really rate this, I don't have an AZERTY keyboard. You should have settled on arrow keys...

jellymann says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:46pm

No idea what was going on. Seemed like an interesting concept, but the mechanics were unpredictable. The different keyboard isn't a huge issue. I found it amusing since I apologise to AZERTY users in the notes on our submission.

WhiteAppleX says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:16am

Yeah Sorry again if you use QWERTY...it's an American competition so I should have pay attention to this x_x
...I don't think I have the right to fix this :/
For you:
A is Left
W is Up
S is Down
D is Right

jomomomo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Can't play windows games... can we get a web version?

Nichii says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:06pm

I use qwerty keyboard so T.T cant do much for this game

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]