Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Losing it

by Fox_in_sox - Jam Entry

Hi, so this is it!
We finally managed to finish this little game within 72 hours and I can say that each of us did a very good job. Our team of four people created a "stealth" game with a rat in the main role. And it's your job to keep her alive.

You need to survive and to find food, and that means a lot of hiding and running. You list contains different items and you need to steal all of them without being seen. That's right, one look and you are done for good.

But maybe things aren't what they seem. Take a look at it from a different perspective:

One kitchen, without windows, without doors. There is no escape route for busy cook. Instead of it she gets terror in the form of rat holes on walls and the floor.

A rat is hiding beneath the floor. Its life consists of hunger and darkness. Its mind doesn't contain anything else than list of items needed to survive.

So maybe there is more even beneath a human mind.

Further info:
- Sorry for any bugs. We will maybe try to fix the minor inconveniences, but we hope you will enjoy this game nevertheless.
- The game is made in Unity.

Credits go to:
Game design: Emil Gasparec
Programming: Pavel Fadrhonc, Richard Sebedovsky
Art/animation: Jana Kilianova (me)

Used textures from:
lostandtaken.com
www.texturemate.com
www.redbaron85.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#31Theme(Jam)3.96
#48Innovation(Jam)3.84
#54Mood(Jam)3.96
#61Graphics(Jam)4.33
#103Overall(Jam)3.67
#146Humor(Jam)3.21
#171Fun(Jam)3.35
#379Audio(Jam)3.04

Comments

João Kucera says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:43am

Awesome aesthetic and very nice concept.

Lissar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:41am

Great visual style! The concept was interesting too.

bitserum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:50am

I really like this, it's pretty cool and it looks great. I thought it was too hard at first, but then noticed the cues of the cooks position. Clever!

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:51am

A stealth game?! How freaking awesome. And love the art!

udvaritibor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:25am

Really love the graphics and the sounds. Gameplay is pretty fun as well

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:16am

The art and sound work together really well to create the mood. It's a very tricky game, too!

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:02pm

AMAZING mood, incredible artwork. The concept is very interesting, but it lacks in intuitivity. Great work.

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Very interesting concept, and a good stealth game with a rat... very difficult but awesome job! I love the art!

Jeremias says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:12pm

While the concept is interesting, the cook gets a bit difficult to manage because she turns so fast. The visuals are really, really awesome and the background sounds too! Very moody!

Split82 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Great graphics and excellent idea. The only problem is quite long delay after I die and can start again. I'm dying a lot :D

Brodenino says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Nice work with the art style, and I like the interpretation of the theme:). The style and music added alot to the mood. It sometimes felt a little random when you got caught and when you didn't though. Maybe that's just me being plain bad at these kinds of games :P

Gins says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Very impressive look, too bad it has no sound.
I really enjoyed that the stealth was all about "listening" to the footsteps and then being quick with your movements.
The ending was funny and made me feel a bit bad ^-^

Fox_in_sox says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Gins: There should be sound. there is no music, but you should definitelly hear at least something.:)

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:21pm

I really liked the art style along with other people.

I would wish that the game was a bit more forgiving.

jorgemoag says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:01am

woow the art is awesome and the idea is great

mcapraro says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:33am

love the visual style, great job!

praporomsk says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Great visual style! Gameplay is challenging. The controls could be more comfortable if you'd set same button for picking up items and passing through holes.

VictoryGarden says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:27pm

This was an interesting entry. It's nice to have a stealth game that's not all about Spying Stealthy Action, and the art was really clean and easy to interpret. I was a little bit sad that my loot wasn't represented in the kitchen underworld, since it would have added to my satisfaction as I squirreled it all off.

That said, it was kind of prohibitively difficult, even though I played probably ten times. Once the cook literally spotted me stealing an apple through the back of her head. It's hard to figure out just where she can see, and even harder to steal items within a short time frame before the cook can use them when I need to be sure I'm hanging out on the tallest cupboard until the right moment (you might want to expand those time frames just a little bit). Some sort of ability to peer through the holes, or more feedback on how far away she is, would be really helpful in terms of navigation. If you want to make it be more ratlike, you could do increasing and decreasing sounds of footsteps to help determine distance.

I also think that theming it in terms of psychological depth is a little bit misguided. It's a fun game about a rat stealing stuff, as far as I'm able to tell thus far (does she freak out that her ingredients are disappearing at random? I never got to a part of the game where I could see that).

Anyway, good job. The idea's fresh and I had a pretty good time!

mechabit says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:54am

Nice art style, game is a bit fiddly to play, good use of the theme, I like how you play a rat.

Fox_in_sox says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:53pm

VictoryGarden: The psychological depth is uncovered after you finish the game. I admit we wanted to imply this layer across the whole gameplay, but we had no time, so it's more or less hidden. Thanks for the feedback!

tuxxilla says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Great game with lots of motivation to play it til the end. You might think about using only one key to perform any action. I've lost several attempts due to hitting space instead of E.

copain says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:20pm

nice and fun.
(little problems of collision; just one button for pass through the hole and take an item maybe cool?)

Kevlanche says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:21pm

I really like it, but good lord it's incredibly difficult!

Small feature request; I would like to be able to restart the game without the mouse.

Snoother says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Wonderful graphics and style. The drab black-and-white palette hints at the dark psychology described in the description, but I found the gameplay a bit too challenging and probably didn't get far enough to uncover this second meaning. But that's more a problem with me than your game! Anyway, congrats, it is very good.

IL_yoshioka says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Mood and Theme are very good! But please give me a few more chance to alive:)

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:04pm

Very enjoyable game. Love the art style; it looks great. Very tense game. Trying to get everything you need without getting spotted is hard. Found it tough to gauge when it was safe to pop out to get something which was a little frustrating at times. Same goes for diving back into a rat hole when trying to evade detection at the last second. Overall though, I loved your interpretation of the theme. Nice work!

D2FXRayG says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 6:38pm

looks really cool! I like the visualization of the sound of the cook while under the floor

May 8, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Really good! Nice to see something fresh. Ahhh but this is the game that really needs that npc dialog line... Must've been rats!

May 16, 2014 @ 12:08am

Wow! Really creative!!

GFM says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Nice game. The graphics were great and the idea really nice. There's usually (as far as I can tell) few stealth games on LD, so it's nice to see one of those. :)
But I had a few (minor) problems with the gameplay... movement wasn't as fluid as I expected: going into/out of a hole wasn't always effortless, as was picking items up.
Also, a few times I died while being away from the cook, and she wasn't even looking at me.

But it was fun, nonetheless. :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]