Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Deep Sea

by erezronen - Jam Entry

Deep Sea is a diving adventure. It is also a tale of monsters and the things they do to their children. Take a dive, collect advanced equipment to dive farther and uncover the protagonist's past by finding items he thought are long lost.

EXPLORE - Don't be afraid to explore the underwater cave system. Try to find as many items as you can before you reach the end.
SWIM - When you drown, you come back to the first screen. Don't let it frustrate you though - you won't lose the equipment you collected before dying.
UNCOVER THE TRUTH - Learn as much as you can about the life of the Diver. The game ends with a credit scene - be sure not to miss them!

The game can be 100% complete in about 7 minutes. With trial and error it will probably take around 15-20 minutes. You can also reach the ending well before you collect all the items, so be sure to check your map and verify you been to all the screens. You can also try to speedrun the game and see how fast you can reach the ending. I managed to do it in around 2:30 minutes.

(give the game a minute or two to load)

The team:
Programming - Stav Goldstein
Art - Mirit Ben Hur
Game Design - Erez Ronen
Music & Sound - Assaf Halevi

Special thanks to: Danny Marcowitz, Alon Tzarafi, Evyatar Amitay & Lior Zalmanson

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#10Mood(Jam)4.36
#15Theme(Jam)4.10
#51Overall(Jam)3.83
#268Audio(Jam)3.29
#269Fun(Jam)3.17
#297Graphics(Jam)3.57
#461Innovation(Jam)2.79
#607Humor(Jam)1.88

Comments

someone says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:28am

Good game. I like the atmosphere it creates.
The collision seemed a bit off in places though.

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:08am

Eerie and strangely compelling.

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:08am

The end really caught me off-guard! Nice way of story telling. I also liked how you got better by picking up the items. Enjoyed this one!

laker says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:10am

I really like the mood, graphics, sound and story. And I like the aspect of finding stuff on your journey. But the backtracking for air is a pace breaker and it's boring. Overall nice game, but you could at least make some air capsules in the deep or something.

erezronen says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Thanks for the feedback!

We had too little time for balancing, otherwise we probably would have add more "air bubbles" to resupply your life bar in the deeper screen.

But time was short, so we had to do with a different solution - that's why dying doesn't reset the game and just get you back to the first screen. we also made the 2nd air bubble to give you enough air to get from that first screen anywhere you want - and if you get the fins you'll really won't have to worry about air anymore.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Nice game. I like the story aspect to it and the upgrade system is awesome :)

Jyrkface says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Great sound and atmosphere! Impressive that you cultivated the mood so well with such little time to work!

Ellian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Awesome. I saw the story coming, but loved it nonetheless. Could use a bit more of gameplay somehow I guess, but story/mood wise it was really a good experience.

Sergraz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Awesome, very atmospheric story.

SFBTom says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Oh wow, surprising amount of atmosphere and a great story!

mechabit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Very moody. At first it was kind of odd how all his litter was all over the cave but if you can ignore that it's got okay storyline. Might want to check the grammar though. Nice art.

skymen says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Really good game :D. Graphics and audio are really good. The atmosphere the game creates is quite good. Really fun and respects th theme, good job.

GarrickWinter says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:57pm

I really liked the mood and the way the story unfolds! Good job!

erezronen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:30am

Thanks for the feedback!

Mechabit - We know the grammar is awful. English is not our native language, so mistakes were made. We try to fix as much of them as we can find, and maybe find a native English speaker who could check the text and fix it once and for all.

randoman says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 8:03am

The game uses the theme to set up a scenario and to create a really nice story! Very nice entry!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]