Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Stroppy Swan

by bazld - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Stroppy swan wants ALL the food! Simply click to swoosh to a new location, eating food along the way, whilst dodging the other swans. Getting combos in one movement will score bonus points.

Thanks for playing, I really enjoyed making it. I'll write a short post-mortem, check the journal entries.

Tools: MonkeyX (+Congo), Gimp, Inkscape, cfxr, Audacity.
Platform: HTML5/browser. Tested on Windows and Mac versions of Chrome, Firefox, and Opera. IE not supported.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#248Fun3.42
#319Graphics3.56
#382Humor2.71
#385Mood3.18
#388Overall3.34
#590Audio2.71
#699Innovation2.87
#1167Theme2.16

Comments

Mincemeat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:12am

For some reason i found this game to be hilarious and im not really sure why haha. Pretty fun, those other swans are jerks, taking all my hard earned food D:

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:12am

this is so insanely cool. good job. you manage to make a really fun experience with good graphics. even the audio is fun

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:13am

Haha, loving it.
Very slick look, very responsive and i really like the fact you added combo-functionality.

My best score is 370.

darkflamejam says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:13am

Great fun! Love the art work, Bloody swans!

Lerc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:20am

Nice, I think the resolution is a little low, It mostly works but sometimes you can mistake a Beak for a bit of food.

Would make a good Phone/Tablet Game.

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:55am

Really liked it! Great visuals, unusual style and gameplay! But it's tough as nails.. I was so bad at this..

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:55am

Hahaha. Good game. At first i thought it was easy, but i enjoyed how hard it is after a while if you try to make combos :D

bazld says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:56am

Thanks for your kind comments, much appreciated :)

@Mincemeat Yeah, having the other birds also eat food was the very last thing on my list, but its kind of funny to line up a combo then lose it :D
@Lerc - agreed, the art got so low res that it can be confusing, esp similar colors.

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:58am

This is actually pretty fun! Love the polish and the aesthetics, as well as the overall "feel" of the game. However I feel it's not very inclined towards the theme?

bazld says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:13am

@madhoe - agreed, I could have items/creatures breaking thru the surface or something.

vilya says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:44am

Nice simple concept and really well executed. Great stuff!

pawegio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Perfect! I really like it... Think about android version!

local minimum says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:13pm

440 was my best. Took a little while to get used to the swan-control but it was surprisingly fun once I figured it out.

I would guess if something be added it would be soundtrack and giving the foods graphics a bit more love, water surface rippling effects so food doesn't simply appear out of nowhere, some shakes and the general stuff to spice it up even some more.

There's nothing like an on-line leader board either to get peoples attention.

micdoodle8 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Nice job, I like the visual style. Simple but still fun.

icereci says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:26pm

so simple yet so enjoyable. good work.

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Sawns are dicks! Good game. Perfectly modelled swan behaviour.

omgnoseat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:22am

I don't think you can get pixely swans to look any better than this :p

bombjack says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:18am

fun little game! great!

lullul says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:07am

Great game, got little addicted to it. Good pixelart and the sounds fits the game perfectly.

davidllanos22 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Really enjoyed your game. Kinda funny and balanced. The idea of combos is also pretty cool. Good job :)

Thorig says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:46pm

The graphics are great and the game is fun. Good job.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:48am

An elegant game! There is nothing I would add or remove.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:10pm

I really like those graphics, and the sound effects too. Good gameplay.

King_Mew says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:29am

Fun. I like the glowing effect the sprites have.

Aaants says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:18am

Cool. Simple, effective and fun :)

capnramses says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:07am

it has a very nice graphics+audio style...retro yet with particles and stuff - nice.

Agecaf says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:24pm

I really liked how you made the swans, and the sound they make. It's fun and simple.

bazld says ...
Jun 28, 2014 @ 1:28pm

I released it iOS and Android, for those who can't get enough stroppiness. Its basically the same game, but with added medals and game center. Byeee!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]