Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Attack Of The Subterranean Village Eaters

by brayzengames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

WASD to control camera, mouse for everything else (RMB deselects buildings when placing).

No end game, just build!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#62Theme3.94
#163Innovation3.69
#176Overall3.63
#236Fun3.44
#375Graphics3.44
#1989Coolness22%

Comments

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:38am

Very impressive for 48 hours, and neat concept of the underground attacks hitting buildings. I was confused looking for coal but I guess it's invisible?

It took a while to get enough wood up and running at the start, but then it wasn't bad once I spammed more woodcutters. The sonic emitters confused me (and what I think is an "emitter prime", the label cuts off short) -- I put two of them down, but they didn't seem to affect the underground pigs at all. They just ate my building and then started eating the emitter. :(

monaarc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:33am

Good game even if it is a bit hard to understand how it works

brayzengames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:15pm

thanks for the feedback both!

@GAFBlizzard - the coal is there, it's just quite hard to see with a black background (it's very dark grey). The emitters definitely work, but I wanted to have a health bar on both buildings and enemies, which I didn't have time for though.

And it is a sonic emitter prime. Damn hardcoded font sizes...

Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:36am

Very well done, good work :)

Reinkout says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:48am

This was quite fun, played this longer than usual. :)

dector says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Those bad animals destroyed all my building and I have no mo resources. Interesting game but little bit hard. It confuses :) Have you planned post-compo version?

mrbungle says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Extremely cool having both views and love the idea of the threat coming from the ground. Found it hard, the underground creatures destroy everything before I've got a foothold!

brayzengames says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:42pm

@dector, I haven't got any plans right now - I've been busy moving house and jobs!

I'll get round to playing all your games soon hopefully!

SaintHeiser says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:21pm

It's very strange balanced. It frustrating every time as building disappear. At first time I thought "it's a bug?"
Game needs to have something against underground creatures.
But pretty good for 48h although.

brayzengames says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 10:21am

it is a bug - an undeground bug ;)

The sonic emitters slowly damage the underground creatures. If I had an extra day (I started about 2pm Saturday!) I would have included some extra UI features, like health bars and maybe labels on the buildings to say what they do.

Crefossus says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:56pm

The balance is reasonable although definitely punishing for first time players. It's hard to understand what's going without models or a little more feedback - maybe your building flashes red? I thought the buildings were just on timers for the first half of the game.

The theme is well integrated with switching views and is a core mechanic.

Great job overall you really got a lot into 48h.

Lacking music that might really help out.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]