Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Karakrian

by chrissou - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Save the world from Karakrian! Go underworld and kill the ghost, but before you must acquire enough underworld power by killing monsters. Upgrade your weapon before summoning Karakrian. Remember you can go back to the surface to get life back by killing wildlings. Enjoy (No sounds in the game) Made with Phaser JS

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1152Overall2.47
#2090Coolness14%

Comments

pancakecity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:33pm

I really like the whole underworld/overworld transition.

lonewookie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:46am

The world transition is cool. A smooth, well-made endless runner. Is there a particular reason you don't get hurt by the deer and bunnies?

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:12am

Solid idea!

chrissou says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:25am

@lonewookie : The upper overworld (surface) is peaceful, you can kill bunnies and deers to get life back. The are not harmful since I wanted a distinction between the two world :
- You fight hard and loose life in underworld
- You can regain your life in the overworld (but you loose UnderworldPower way faster)

Xorr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:06am

Oh Ma Gaaad, i love so much your concept

Tanner says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:08pm

It's quite hard for me, but I like it.

BadgerPriest says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:50am

I'm getting a bug where when I hit enter to restart after losing, it puts the underworld demons on the safe surface

chrissou says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:42am

@BadgerPriest : Thanks for the bug report, it is now fixed :)

gre says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:54am

Awesome!
I love the concept and the take on the theme, it is like a mix between themes "Beneath the Surface" and "Two worlds" ^^
Gameplay is simple but very cool!
That firing could be a bit faster I think, polish a bit the UI and graphics and you have an incredible game!

mrspeaker says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Good work - a lot of interesting ideas in there! Reallly needs some sfx though ;)

TeamEagle says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 4:10pm

The transitioning is pretty unique in combination with keeping something up and deciding when you should switch.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]