Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Middle Management Hell

by Hammervuis - Jam Entry

Send incoming souls to their punishment in one of the circles of hell. But be careful! Don't let your demons become too bored, or the souls not miserable enough, or that justice is not being served. Balance those for long enough and you could earn a promotion from the big guy himself :)

Red bar: Demon satisfaction
Yellow bar: Just punishment
Purple bar: Misery

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#252Humor(Jam)2.87
#362Innovation(Jam)3.03
#393Audio(Jam)3.00
#416Theme(Jam)3.06
#566Mood(Jam)2.71
#589Fun(Jam)2.53
#591Overall(Jam)2.81
#620Graphics(Jam)2.69

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Web link is broken.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:37pm

I was only able to download the web.html file, not the web.unity3d file.

Dreii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Yeah wont load up, not everything's there.

GlowingSnail says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:34pm

It would be better if Charon moved to the designated floating piece of rock, instead of always going to the middle.

whilefun says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:36pm

web link is broken for me as well. It downloads an html file rather than hosting the game within it

TheExGenesis says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Link's broken

nSun says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:59pm

I liked this game I would have liked the meaning of the different gauges are shown ingame.

jomomomo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Can't get web link to work.

Hammervuis says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Sorry about the weblink, removed for now...

Nichii says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Nice concept, though i noticed that when i picked up wrath, he went to lust >.>

Daveloper says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Nice submission, all the different bars confused me for a bit, but that'll pass with time.

Zyrconium says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:34pm

So, the correct thing to do is: Click where told, put demons where there are too many people.

It's relatively well executed other than that.

kibertoad says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Doesn't download from dropbox for me.

kibertoad says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Worked this time. Wish there was more gameplay to it, idea itself is pretty interesting, could use some fleshing out.

Boodog says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Cool!

Andy Gainey says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:13pm

I couldn't figure out what was happening or why. I presume it's best to send people to the circle of hell indicated, but maybe not? Is that a tradeoff between keeping demons satisfied and just punishment? I also kept getting fired, even when I thought all indications suggested I was doing okay.

It wasn't obvious that the cards at the midnight hour were upgrades or whatever. The first time on that screen, you can click anywhere and get back to the game, so I didn't even realize that the cards were any more than artwork. The second time the screen showed up, I tried clicking everywhere and must have eventually clicked a card without fully realizing it. The third time I started to figure it out, but still didn't know what each card did. Then I discovered at least that the boat adds an extra boat. Still don't know what the other two do.

ultramailman says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:08am

Nice. It was a little confusing at first, I didn't know what to do.

randoman says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 3:11pm

The idea looks nice, but could use some improvement. At first it's very difficult to understand what you are supposed to do, but when you get it, it becomes repetitive.

Jason Lay says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Man the sound was awesome, however it took a while to figure out what I was doing. With some polish this could be pretty cool.

aelita1992 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 9:44pm

The idea is funny, but some tutorial would be useful.

Hammervuis says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 11:29am

Yeah, we realize now that it's almost impossible to know what to do in the game. Sorry about that everyone.

@Jason, we got music from freepd.com, but all the sound effects we made with our MOUTHS!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]