Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Under the Safes

by DarkEngineer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I'm learning Phaser so i did it with all my power. Works well on Firefox or Aurora. This is my first LD so i'm just getting to be faster in creating code. Game is really simple.
Controls: Arrows
You need to protect world from worms, if 10 worms exists you lose the game, but don't be affraid world is kind and you need to work to lose :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#838Humor2.04
#1058Audio1.31
#1069Theme2.44
#1153Graphics2.14
#1194Mood1.74
#1225Fun1.86
#1247Innovation1.78
#1268Overall1.89

Comments

tacs says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:57am

Doesn't seem to work in chrome. I get two lines of text and what appears to be a green quad that falls off the screen.

ccglp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:55am

Works in chrome for me, pretty simple but nice to be a first shoot

littleball says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:55am

How do you loose?

I like the character graphics.

DarkEngineer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:59am

You lose if there exists more worms than 10 :)

dusho says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:00pm

For me works in Chrome, but stutters badly after some time. Character jitters sometimes, controls are bit wonky. Guess there is no winning or loosing condition...
Some more details about game should be provided.

elfeck says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:00pm

I like the graphics and the movement of the character.
A ending of some sort would be great though :)

Running on Chrome. Gets a little laggy after ~20 seconds.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Nice artwork. I actually had to work to lose the game, am I supposed to be doing something other than catching the worms?

Tanner says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Despite it is your first LD this game is really nice. I like that I can interpret in many ways. Thanks to the silence I can concentrate on killing worms. IMO game is to easy :)
Keep it up!

ps. worms made me laugh lol :D

pancakecity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:26pm

It is a pretty easy game, fun idea!

Gaspard_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Who wants to compare scores? XD
Game is really easy, the difficulty should increase with time at least.
The game is really clean,good job!

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Hi. Some sound would improve it, try BXFR maybe ? Good job on entering! Keep it up!

pythong says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:57pm

I reached 300 points, then I placed the character in the center of the screen and - did nothing anymore. Reached 100 points without dying, but then I quit the game because I also couldn't see how I'd lose ;)

Xeke_Death says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:37am

A start button would be handy, I lost before I swapped tabs to see the game because it started without me.

May 2, 2014 @ 9:43am

Are you using a pool of objects? This may be the cause of the lag.
Also you may want to set your body as a sensor, so the player won't seem to enter in the ground when hit from above ( you don't need physical collision in the game ).
Good for a first try

DustyStylus says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:47am

Works fine in Chrome here. Did get a stutter after a while. Well done on your first LD!

MintArcade says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:10am

Keep calm & kill worms ;)

nicotr014 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 5:31am

Not bad, good first try using Phaser

end3r says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Loos like it's really hard to loose, plus this guy is a poop magnet ;D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]