Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

emilion

by Helopol - Jam Entry

"Hey, can you get some wine ? There's a bottle somewhere in the cellar."

***

Game by Helo (heloiselozano.tumblr.com) & Pol (polclarissou.tumblr.com)

The sound is rather low, don't hesitate to turn it up a bit :>

controls : WASD/ZQSD + mouse + E

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Mood(Jam)4.57
Coolness58%
#12Graphics(Jam)4.64
#27Overall(Jam)4.04
#73Audio(Jam)3.85
#81Theme(Jam)3.78
#86Humor(Jam)3.53
#122Fun(Jam)3.48
#208Innovation(Jam)3.37

Comments

Evilion says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:05pm

AWESOME

tehryanx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:59pm

haha love this. really pretty visuals.

Hermes says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:36am

I laught so hard when I take the fish ^^

pereubu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:58am

So fresh

Pitoum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:22am

WHAT DID YOU SMOCK GUYS! :D

Pierrec says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:30pm

Never forget to bring some bread when you explore weird dimensions in your cellar.

baboum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Wow, I loved your games guys! Loved the artwork (really cool low-poly cel-shaded stuff), loved the sound effects, loved the story-line (fucked up but really cool), and for the first time a first person game made with unity don't follow my mouse to quick. I have one thing to say, continuez comme ça putain <3

conormn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Really really great job! Loved the atmosphere.

jujule says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Amazing! Very polished.

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Beautiful game! One of the best looking, if not THE best looking game I've played here. :)

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Wow, that was really good. The atmosphere was perfect in the underwater and snowy areas!

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:03pm

I didn't find the wine.

bitserum says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Excellent mood and graphics! I really liked the look of the underwater level, while the cellar had a bit burned out colors, also the fish wasn't giving out as much light as I hoped. Still those are just minor issues and I thoroughly enjoyed playing :)

simplesmiler says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:39pm

You deserve top marks. This is pure awesomeness.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Your graphics and lighting effects are AMAZING! What shaders did you guys use if I can ask?

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Really great game! I loved the art. I wasn't totally sure how to progress once I got to the snow area though-- I wanted to feed the bread to the bird.

I like the "once you go deep enough underground, weird things start to happen" take on the theme. I did something similar, haha.

Meedoc says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:29pm

A really nice walk! I just wish I could have the same cellar now :)

Helopol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:48pm

@DrPrettyPatty we used the toon shader from unity with a custom ramp, then for the contextual effects in some rooms it's just a bunch of camera effects and fog.

@Secret_Tunnel you can visit all the areas anytime, all you have to do is guess what to do with the b r e a d :>
A hint will show up when you go to the right place.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:10am

Really impressive graphics here. Some neat ideas in general. Very moody and atmospheric.

Mase says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:30am

Consistently surprising and amusing. Very enchanting imagery as well. <3

MoArtis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:19am

I love the fact that you can just leave your cellar at the beginning. :D

psychonull says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:49am

haha! I finally found the wine, loved the game is great

kristof says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:39am

Lovely! Very nice art style and atmosphere.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:19am

Well that's quite a big cellar! Great controls and funny experience. Good work!

cageinabird says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:52am

How surreal! The joy of this was not knowing quite what you were about to see when you opened a door. :)

spotco says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:55am

Really great environments! I was thinking this was gonna be a horror game or something at first...

Huder says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:34am

Impressive graphics. I liked that in every room was something absolutely different.

Spotline says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:33am

Wow congrats this is beautiful !(and well polished) The sounds really add to the experience, too bad the fish and the bird don't have any :)

Diptoman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:52am

I don't know what kind of cellar that was, but it was beautiful O_O
Really awesome Gfx and Mood! So short, but was a great experience! Amazing work for 72 hours.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:04pm

nice work!

tomvert says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Nice idea and universe, as a french guy who loves wine I can only like your game :)

RetroEpic says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Really nice work! Very surreal

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:53pm

That's quite a strange cellar you've got there :P

Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Crazy.

Catman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Great artwork and style, really beautiful! Intersting and novel take on the theme, too.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Love the look of this game! I included it in part 4 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/as-BlCZWXm0

Helopol says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Thanks ! :D

raulincze says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:12am

Incredible mood... Unfortunately I got stuck with a fish in my hand? I couldn't feed it to the bird, or wasn't I supposed to do that?

Anyway, I really loved exploring the environment.

Helopol says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:08am

Well, there's one other room where there's stuff to do before :>
The bird never really had a taste for fishes.

rylgh says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:57am

lovely... runs pretty badly in my browser though, how bout a mac build?

Helopol says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:02pm

We just added a OS X build of the game, but we haven't tested it yet. Hope it works ok, don't hesitate to throw feedback if something seems wrong with this version !

TeamFlare says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:44am

Wonderful atmosphere :)

miseryguts says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Controls felt a bit squirrelly to me, but that's a pretty minor problem honestly! The atmosphere and graphics were gorgeous, I enjoyed it immensely :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]