Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Super Subsurface Sun Slayer

by BauhausGamesSyndicate - Jam Entry

HOTFIX!: - Press C to toggle shader, if the screen stays black!
Rise from the Underground and help the darkest Overlord of all to devastate the Civilisation on the Surface. You, the Overlord take control over 3 different types of allied creatures that help you to kill and destroy everything under the Sun. With every battle you gain more resources that you can spend to increase your mighty army of darkness. Your final enemy? The God of Light and Sun, hiding in his fortress. Fight your way through the enemy hordes and get this fucker.

CONTROLS:
- WASD to move
- SPACE to attack
- E to send your minions
HOTFIX!: - Press C to toggle shader, if the screen stays black!

In underworld:
- HOLD SPACE to buy minions

Minions:
- "Slender": They collect the corpses and bring you even more corpses to create minions.
- "Warg": They attack the humans.
- Bats: currently no use

Full Sountrack (2 Themes not implemented yet) will be available for Download next week!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#48Graphics(Jam)4.39
#102Audio(Jam)3.72
#138Mood(Jam)3.62
#279Innovation(Jam)3.22
#325Humor(Jam)2.69
#325Overall(Jam)3.29
#382Theme(Jam)3.14
#486Fun(Jam)2.78

Comments

WitchLake says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Really nice graphics! But the gameplay is really really hard to get!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Very cool presentation all round. I like the painterly art style and the music. I feel like you die to the knight guys a bit too quickly, and when I died I couldn't find a way to restart? Maybe I'm missing something obvious, I dunno. Otherwise very cool.

renatopp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Good graphics and a good dark theme. But the gameplay is very unpolished, the knights kills me very easy, and when I die, the game just shows Very Death and I can get back to menu.

I loved to throw people to the pit, and the unicorn barrier there was unexpected. hehe

Good job.

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:36pm

I get some shader errors: Fragment Shader: ERROR 0:1: error(#397) Illegal escape sequence. I'm trying to play it in Windows 8.1 if it helps.

Darkuser says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:46pm

I just some UI stuff over a black screen. It seemed to make noises when I pressed buttons but nothing was happening

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Most of the gameplay was implemented in the last 6 hours and we are aware of the fact that it is hard to understand.
That you can die was literally implemented fives minutes before submitting. You have to restart the game to replay.

If you have problems or crashes, can you please report your OpenGL version and OS?

Anoarith says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:28am

I've got the same problem : black screen after the controls explanation (the black metal atmosphere looks cool, that's too bad :( )

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:34am

Ah, I'm on mac and was unable to run it.

seantheartist says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:00pm

The art, music, and theme were all great. I felt the controls could have been illustrated more clearly especially with buying units. Also I wasn't able to move when I was above ground so I couldn't really do much.

skymen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Good game. Really good graphics and musics. I liked the mood too. Too bad there is some minor bugs that could be fixed if you had more time (speed of character, ultra quick death). The story isn't explained (in game) too. We have to play a few time to understand what's happining.
Good overall though.

Muciojad says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:23pm

"Press any key..."
"any key = space" - I love this xD
About the game: it's very difficulty to get a high score, but hard gameplay is rewarded by A-M-A-Z-I-N-G graphic(is it hand-drawing?) and nice music, which gives not bad mood ;)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:23pm

I am uploading a hot fix right now. So game may be undownloadable for 10 minutes.

The hot fix allows disabling the shader by pressing "C".
Try this if performance is too low or you screen stay black.

We probably will do a post-compo version.
Thanks everyone for you feedback <3

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:36pm

I literally just spent the last hour trying to win this game. I built army after army of wolves(which last for about 2 seconds against the knights), was collecting corpses all the way to the second to last castle, the last fort falls and I cross the bridge and for three or four times threw about 2000 worth of wolves at the final fortress (and again the wolves didn't last a second), and finally said fuck it I might as well go down fighting and ran in chomping by myself, and turns out I am untargetable when I am holding down the space key(then later I am untargetable entirely without holding down anything), so I chomped the castle clean again and again for about 5 minutes but the spawning never ends.
I can't say I regret playing this game because the first 10 minutes of it was quite epic and fun wrecking havoc across the map, which was the reason I kept trying this long. I just wish you would've mentioned in the description the game was unbeatable though.
Regardless it's a very good entry!

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:40pm

Love the visual style and the overall concept. The game is a bit repetitive and it wasn't always clear to me what I was doing or what was happening. For example, the humans raged at my feet with weapons, but I don't think I was getting hit right? So work on that and you can really get somewhere with this :) good luck!

May 1, 2014 @ 8:28am

WHOOO somebody played it for an hour xD ok... sorry for the non-stisfiyng ending... In the last 5 Minutes we added the SonGod boss just by copying the Unicorn! And we added that you are able to destroy the spawner by killing units from there!

May 1, 2014 @ 8:32am

U actualy can defeat the sunTemple an win the game by defeating many many units but then the game will crash because there is a missing Sprite for the destroyed Temple ;) Check out the Post-Compo version we will make :P

May 1, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Looking forward to it!

One suggestion I have is that aesthetically, you can make the wolf pack look nicer and not stack together by assigning them random, individually different acceleration rates. They will each accelerate differently, making them spread out, then reach the same max speed and stay spread out as they continue rushing.

kivifreak says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:10pm

5/5 One suggestion though, make holding space spawn more minions

May 2, 2014 @ 3:19pm

nope... :D I dont think so :)

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Good ambience!

javifugitivo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:38pm

The game has interesting graphics, but it needs more polishing. The game crashed me when I tried to go up.

MidCry says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Like the dark atmosphere and smooth graphic ...

Wakka says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:13pm

The game has very great atmosphere and I really like the concept, however it is very buggy and not fully playable

rincewind_cz says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 12:46am

Great, but little unfinished. I really liked the graphics and music, actual gameplay seems bit clumsy. Units should be spawned/created faster... Some better explanation at start would be helpful too. Other than that it's really great entry, good job! :-)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]