Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Rabbit Hole

by alexdantas - Jam Entry

Description:
You're Ceci, a cute girl in a rabbit outfit, who has to save her friends from a burning on the Rabbit Hole; a huge cave filled with all sorts of things.

Avoid the fire, collect stars on the way, fight the strange walking-fire-people and make sure to leave no friend behind!

Controls:
Arrow keys, WASD, Shift

Info:
Game made entirely on JavaScript
With the awesome "melonJS" game engine
and the Tiled level editor.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#246Audio(Jam)3.34
#444Theme(Jam)3.00
#477Humor(Jam)2.30
#492Fun(Jam)2.77
#543Mood(Jam)2.76
#566Overall(Jam)2.86
#572Graphics(Jam)2.83
#723Innovation(Jam)2.11
#1359Coolness48%

Comments

icemelt7 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:27am

This one is really cool with lots of efforts, nice work!

Caridorc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:32am

While this game is fully playable and works, i found very mechanics apartn from jumping and walking, the graphics and the music are cool though.

mir007 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:51am

Cool graphics!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:18am

I liked the parallax clouds. It was kind of hard to know when a leap would or would not kill you close to the bottom though.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:23am

I don't really like the game. It doesn't feel really nice. There's some nice stuff in there but I don't think it's great.

I did like the audio though!

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:27am

A nice platformer, and a great soundtrack (really, why did you bother adding a mute button?) ;) Had fun playing it!

calvinsm says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:06am

I love the parallax clouds and I really enjoy the music. But the game have so much empty space, with no challange (but the music spirit have a challange, I mean). And one more thing... you made a coin system, ok, this is great. But you will use these coins (or stars) for what? To get power ups?
All the objects in our game need to have a purpose.

hmm... I hope you understand my point of view. =)

niculistana says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:46am

Cool game Alex!

Few thoughts that would make your game better:
- UX wise, I think there should be a more obvious way that says that you can click on the corners to make the player run
- In the first level, I had trouble figuring out the purpose, and I think this occurs in other levels
- The animation for jumping looks a bit odd and physically weird

If anything, I think it's nice for a first plat former game (I believe mines wasn't even as close as yours when I was still figuring things out)

Also, thanks for checking out Descent! The infinite vertical jumper game you played over here: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=35234

hbocao says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:42pm

I like the parallax effects and loved the clouds, but the art as a whole doesn't mix with the clouds. The animations were kinda cool, though. I don't think the music fit the game :(

Rabbits... says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:09am

quite a lot to explore, and one of the few games with solid music in it

hanoth says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:13am

I really like the look of this game. Not crazy about the techno music though.

rvmook says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:27am

Too bad you weren't able to finish the game like you wanted in time. You already implemented most of my feedback in your Post-LD version, which was a lot more fun to play. Although it's impressive what you did with the music within the time I didn't feel it really fit the mood of the game.

Cawrtz says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Nicely done !

brogrammers says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:44pm

It was my first time playing a game made with melonJS. It was not bad! Hope to see more from it in the future!

madmaw says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Love the beat in the music

trueyomic says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:27pm

The graphics were cutesy, but the gameplay felt kind of empty. There were too many places to go, but too little to do other than get lost.

alexdantas says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:11am

Thanks a lot for commenting; I wish I could
hug you all :)

Your feedback means a lot to me, specially at
the beginning of my indie gamedev hobby carreer.

Myyyvothrr says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 9:40am

Liked the graphics style and the music was great!

f7f5 says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 11:17pm

I liked the art style. Getting the motions right on your first platformer in not an easy task!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]