Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the Surface

by Blueberry Soft - Jam Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#471Mood(Jam)2.88
#506Audio(Jam)2.69
#616Humor(Jam)1.82
#661Graphics(Jam)2.52
#708Theme(Jam)2.18
#712Innovation(Jam)2.14
#741Overall(Jam)2.22
#761Fun(Jam)1.73

Comments

ehtd says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:09am

Interesting navigation

Hempuli says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:12am

I liked the atmosphere, but there didn't seem to that much to do.

lief says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:19am

I liked the feeling of being a wolf or animal here, the running and jumping felt powerful.

I glimpsed a lower level through a glitched hole, but couldn't find out to get down to it.

I may not have played this long enough to find out what I am supposed to be doing, and the game doesn't explain much.

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:52am

Nice mood, though not much going on in the form of gameplay

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:12am

Nice game!

TomBoogaart says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:30am

sounds were good as, i stopped pretty quick due to the lack of content

Shire says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:58am

Gameplay is a little weak but the landscape is cool.

gabbsson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:10am

As others have pointed out the sound was cool and eerie. Couldnt quite figure out what to do, but it felt like the start of something cool.

Jack says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:27am

I love the sound design and general mood but I just wish there was more substance - I found the underground blue bit (by walking off the edge, not sure if that's intended) and thought it might have been a bit of a thinking-outside-the-box exploration game, but nothing else happened from then. Enticing but ultimately disappointing.

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:27am

Loved it - great feeling and glitchyness to it! <3

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:27am

I'm not sure if there is any goal. Nice terrain though :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:28am

Like others, I wasn't sure what to do (if there was anything I should be doing?). Some instructions with what you should be doing or a description of the game would be helpful.

Spotline says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Not sure if there's a goal but being this roaming monster feels good :D

d_0o_d says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Interesting, but I didn't know what to do. Also I just tried the linux version and it works.

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Pretty Cool

zanenga says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:17am

I liked the audio and atmosphere of the game. However, I had no idea what to do. Perhaps a mission briefing or some kind of radar could help?

wdebowicz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:31am

I like the view perspective.

Aomeas says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:27am

The sounds are cool and so are the graphics, but what am I supposed to do ?

moonmagic says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:59pm

I stomped around and climbed mountains and waved my mouth at the surface. I looked for food but there was none. I settled back into my dreamless sleep and exhaled exhaled exhaaaaled.

Nezzhil says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:50pm

I wish was an history or an objective to keep me playing in that atmosphere more time.

borrismoose says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Does a good job of conveying mood but needs objectives or something else going on.

pichifino says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 11:08am

Nice!

tastyoishi says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Pretty atmospheric :) the eyes were kinda weird, but the jaw was cool to see

frogcheese says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 2:20pm

With headphones on the sound did help create an atmosphere, but it wasn't clear what the purpose of the game was or its connection to the theme. I did manage to fall through the ground at one point and ended up in a ditch beneath a part of the level, so I guess there's that.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]