Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

River Raid 3d

by harko12 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

With the theme of 'beneath' I had a vision of one of my old faves, River Raid, but instead of blowing up bridges to get to the next level, you could go to the next level any time. But it was tougher, so if you went before your plane was ready, it could be dangerous. Plus you can see the next level going by beneath you.. hence the theme tie in.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#555Innovation3.07
#759Theme3.03
#1047Mood2.39
#1072Graphics2.33
#1194Overall2.35
#1206Fun1.97

Comments

madjackmcmad says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:31am

I love River Raid! Very cool idea here. I wasn't able to fire my weapon though, tried all the ctrl keys I have. Everything else worked!

harko12 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:49pm

I guess I should have taken it out of the instructions, since weapon firing didn't make it into version 1 :(

Jools64 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:56pm

This looks really cool. It's a shame you didn't get around to implementing all the collisions and bullets and stuff. I imagine it would have been really fun to play. Hopefully you can expand on it at some point. Good work on accomplishing what you did in the time though!

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Hi... Liked the level revealing, spent time just diving! Gun wouldn't fire (Chrome / Windows 7)

harko12 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:01am

I've been fixing bugs since the contest ended. Once it's done, I will try to post the 'actually working' version.

Joshua_Burr says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:24pm

I thought this looked really fun. I couldn't shoot on OSX (Safari) though.

Neonlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Really liked diving through levels, but it's a shame firing isn't in. Could have used some sound effects too, but the concept is pretty damn cool! You should expand on it sometime :).

borrismoose says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:49pm

It controls well and is a cool concept. Like others have said, it would be good to play with more going on. Perhaps change the lighting on the platforms below, sometimes it was hard to pick out what was going on (initially at least).

harko12 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:11am

I've put up a new version, with actual gameplay! You're right on the lighting. I need to get some textures in there, so it's not all gray, then put some scoring in so there is a reason to continue. A little bit at a time.

SnoringFrog says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:53am

Looked cool, and I liked the concept. It's a shame you didn't get to get the finished version up for the LD!

Garris says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:55am

As a concept demo, this was great. I love river raid and making it a multi-level 3d shooter is awesome. It would have been nice if a couple more core features had been finished, but not ever LD48 goes as planned.

607 says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Is there really anything to do in the pre 1.0 version? I mean, It seems that I can't get hit and can't shoot myself. I could dive up and down though, and that was kind of cool.

harko12 says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 3:52am

No, sadly the pre 1.0 version was pretty light on features. I really only had time to get the flying and the diving/climbing working. I'm hoping to get a 1.2 build out next week, with fuel, scoring, and maybe some plan upgrades

May 17, 2014 @ 8:39am

An interesting take on the theme, and also a nice twist to River Raid's gameplay!

This would make a REALLY nice game if more fleshed out. Keep it up! =)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]