Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Underwall

by sickmentalnerd - Jam Entry

Our history:
This is our first game development event that we participate. We are students of Jogos Digitais (Digital Games) at Facisa in Campina Grande, Brazil and we're on our first year on this course.
We can say from the bottom of our hearts that we learned a lot with this experience and it was very profitable.
Hope you like this work we made with love.

History of the game:
The game is a 2D side-scrolling adventure game that tells the story of a little girl that fell on a hole and his brother that always was a selfish guy. For a matter of time he fell on the hole too and he has the objective to save her sister and himself from there.

Controls:
Arrows Keys - Move
Q - Shoot Stones

Credits:
Arthur Cesar (Art, Screenplay)
Caio Marcio (Art, Sound)
Dayvid Mendes (Art)
Lucas Freitas (Animation)
Rubens Salvador (Programmer)
Tacitto Adamis (Programmer, Screenplay)
Victor Santiago (Animation, Sound)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#269Graphics(Jam)3.64
#344Theme(Jam)3.21
#467Audio(Jam)2.84
#594Mood(Jam)2.65
#629Overall(Jam)2.72
#645Fun(Jam)2.35
#726Innovation(Jam)2.09
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

mrhill says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:33pm

wonderful

jotson says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Nice work. Just needs some polish and a few bug fixes (I was able to jump out of the right side of the world).

Dreii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:05am

Hey Its beautiful how much passion you guys have for this :) Really nice artwork and take on the theme.

petrih says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Not bad! The collision boxes seems a bit too large maybe?

HybridMind says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:51pm

The artwork looked nice. I wasn't able to really understand the goal though. I explored around a few times but the level design wasn't very clear as to where I should go. I just kept hitting dead ends. One time I even stepped right out of the right side of the map and fell to the bottom and got stuck. Some of the wood platform hitboxes don't work either.

kikaz says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Nice animations for the guy, very precise controls, important for this kind of game, good job !

Ace says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 10:40pm

The controls feel a bit off somehow, maybe something to do with the look of the animations. The slightly broken platform collisions feels rather unpolished too.

Overall a really well made game though.

Lukbebalduke says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Nice graphics and sounds, but the tiles does not "connect". And the game has a bug, the guy fell out of the world.

ChuiGum says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 11:06pm

Great graphics, music, and game!

eskivor says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 11:11pm

The head of the guy is smaller when he jumps.

vigrid says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 12:39am

I liked both the graphics, and the music. It was nice to see these little animations. The game itself is a bit tricky and hard, at least for me.

CommanderJ says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 12:51am

nice animations, game seemed pretty polished. would like to have more of a feel for when I hit something with the rocks. Right now, they just fade away.

wschorn says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 1:50am

i fell through the world. wish I could throw rocks while jumping. not a big fan of the music, it lacks a pleasing hook. but very nice visuals!

Crowbeak says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 2:12am

This is really good for a first attempt. I have two problems with the game. One is that you can't throw rocks when moving. There was one spot where I had to rely on the rock going through the wall to hit a skeleton high above me, which is counter-intuitive.

The second problem has to do with level design. There are multiple places where there are spikes at the bottom of a fall, and you can't see them before you fall. There's no way for the player to anticipate that, and it feels unfair rather than difficult. The player should be able to see all dangers coming so they can react, especially in a game where one hit means death.

pikkpoiss says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 4:51am

Nice first attempt! I really liked the art style for the player and skeletons, and the music brought me into the world well. I do wish the controls were tightened up a bit, and throwing rocks felt a bit off since I would throw the rock over the head of any enemy I was on the same level of.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]