Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

SkyManta

by snickersnacks - Jam Entry

Left-click to pew pew, hold right-click to throw a plasma bomb. Swimming through air speeds you up, swimming through water slows you down. The trick to winning is beneath the surface. Have fun!!

Engine: Unity3D
Language: C#
Platforms: Browser, Windows, Oculus Rift
3D/Animation: Blender
Graphic Assets: Photoshop CC
Audio Editor: Audacity
Version Control: Github

Code & SFX: @zite00
Music: @condard
Everything else: @snickersnax

Thanks to: Dr. Bobby English, the Beastie Boys for creating "No Sleep Till Brooklyn", and Ludum Dare for forcing Snickersnacks to finally learn how to rig and animate 3D models.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#95Humor(Jam)3.50
#433Graphics(Jam)3.23
#490Innovation(Jam)2.73
#527Fun(Jam)2.70
#537Audio(Jam)2.59
#616Theme(Jam)2.60
#639Mood(Jam)2.50
#649Overall(Jam)2.66

Comments

Exeneva says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:18am

Interesting, but got repetitive quickly, especially with the constant pew-pews.

Marjie62 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:34am

Very silly, I laughed a lot. It was very difficult to aim, since you both aim and look with the mouse, and you are always moving forwards

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:41am

I think aiming would be a lot easier if your shots were aimed a bit lower on the screen; once the health bars load up it's very hard to actually see where you're aiming.

I lol'd hard the first time the octopus deathbeamed me.

micdoodle8 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:45am

Nice entry :) The models & textures are well done, and the pew-pew is pretty funny. Though I had a hard time aiming because the bullets weren't being shot from the middle of the screen and there was no crossheir.

awppy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:46am

The boss' OHKO attack was kind of a bummer but the rest of it was pretty fun.

The lack of a crosshair and having your shots aimed at your score meter took some getting used to and made it harder to learn though

davidc02 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:09am

Aiming is too hard, and the sound is too repetitive. But it's fun. I hope you polish it more sometime in the future.

snickersnacks says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Great feedback! Aiming has been slightly calibrated to better match center-of-screen, should be a bit less frustrating.

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:46pm

... This was.. special :P - The pew pew was funny at first, but very quickly got annoying :P The graphics were good, but the gameplay got repetitive quite fast.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Haha good one! XD But the octopus is almost killing you in oneshot (too hard)

Make A Game says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Really liked the mood you set but i felt frustrated by not being able to reduce/increase my speed at will to navigate easier and aim better. Fun nonetheless

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Pew pew! :D

FrozenCow says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Haha, the sounds made me chuckle. Cool that you had a boss! I wasn't sure sometimes why I died, but the overall experience was fun.

TeamFlare says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Hahaha, that's so silly that it's allready cool :D Great sound effects too. Definetely 5 stars for humor :) Great entry.

May 1, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Amusing game. I like the PEW PEW lasers. The short draw distance was a bit odd, but otherwise the graphics are good. Seemed to go a bit too fast to control very well, as well. Pretty good overall.

May 2, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Nice gfx!

icereci says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:33pm

funny sound effects :) good job

xdegtyarev says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Hehe, funny! :)

TheCze says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Played the Rift Version, felt a bit weird that the model clipped through my head but I liked the Kraken.

csanyk says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 3:15am

It downloaded for like 10 minutes, played for a few seconds then suddenly the web browser acted like I had clicked a link and I got taken to some other page.

I really wanted to check this out, but that was not worth repeating to see what the heck happened. I really like mantas, so I hope this was a good game for those who could play it.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]