Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Rabbit Hole

by XrXr - Jam Entry

My first ever LD :D didn't get to implement the feature that would relate the game to the theme, but at least the game is playable and finished enough!

In this game you control a bunny and try to eat as much carrots as possible while staying alive.

To run the game, open the folder you extracted/installed to and run menu.exe

The game requires Microsoft Visual C++ Redistributable Package 2010 which can be downloaded from Microsoft. Most machines probably already have it.

You must have a screen resolution of 1600*900 or higher to play this. If you have exactly 1600*900, then the game will run at full screen. To quit, just alt tab and close the window by right clicking on the task bar icon.

The Linux version accepts alt+f4 to quit

The game was written in Python and Pygame, and bundled using cx_freeze.

As to how this relate to the theme, if you think about it, rabbits dig hole, and the player is a rabbit...

Hint: There is a way to cheat death. To conquer the fear, you must face it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#334Humor(Jam)2.67
#532Audio(Jam)2.61
#634Fun(Jam)2.39
#682Mood(Jam)2.30
#690Overall(Jam)2.50
#714Graphics(Jam)2.24
#734Innovation(Jam)2.00
#754Theme(Jam)1.63

Comments

ceosol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:03am

It was a tad too fast to tell exactly what was going on. Is there a way to avoid the flying thingy?

I hope you develop this further. It would make a great kids' app with the bunnies and carrots.

XrXr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:21am

Ceosol, thanks playing and for mentioning the bird, I added a hint to the submission! :D

petey123567 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:35am

Nice job on your first LD!

bushmango says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:31am

i died!

Maniulo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:47am

Nice bunny/bird drawing style! In my opinion, the game would look much better and be more stylish if the ground was hand-drawn as well instead of being just general-looking ground.

What was the feature that got cut?

XrXr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Maniulo, there was suppose to be more levels, and at some point you would be able to use your carrots to dig rabbit holes :)

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Hi, nice job! But slow it down a little.

Moosefly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:23pm

There I am, hopping around trying out the controls and getting used to how the bunny handles... WHAM, a bird appears and instantly kills me. "You Died". Welcome to the Rabbit Hole.

Yeah, the gameplay was way too fast and somewhat dull, but the graphics were actually quite nice in their simpleness. Audio was there. I guess. Good job finishing something for your first Ludum Dare!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Couldn't really figure out what was going on. Jumping seemed a bit weird too.

XrXr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Figglewatts, thanks for pointing out the jumping! The jump speed is non-constant, which is unusual. I will choose more carefully next time.

jacobrb95 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Good first game. Didn't really see how it fits with the theme though.

ceosol says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:28am

Tried again. Still can't figure out the bird. I faced him, I jumped into him, even managed once to jump over him and he still gets me every time :)

Marza says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:35pm

HA! I Conquered the bird! And then another came and ate me... :P
Really great as your first game, would be cool to see the rabbit hole digging :)

Sparrow says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Very good game for your first Ludum. I beat the bird! Once... :P
I would've liked the bird coming from the farthest side of the camera.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Nice debut!

Delca says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:54pm

I could not play it beacuse of the resolution thing... Is there a reason to require 1600*900 ?

Wertle says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:08pm

This game is so hard but it made me laugh so hard! Those birds! The delay between pressing space and doing the anti-bird flail was a little tough, it made it hard to react to the birds since they were so fast. I still laughed a lot though, I love that bunny. Good job on your first Ludum Dare :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]