Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Scary Ugly Face

by Jonochrome - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I figured it would be cool to look at the theme in a figurative sense, so I planned out the idea before adding much to the game and decided to give it a sort of narrative structure. Besides that, I don't really know what was going on through my mind when I made this. It's sort of sloppy, but I had fun. Made with Flash 8 Professional.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#11Humor4.22
#32Overall4.03
#35Mood4.05
#69Audio3.74
#86Fun3.75
#100Graphics4.01
#147Theme3.77
#255Innovation3.51

Comments

Static_boy123 says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 2:13am

Holy crap that was amazing. It wasn't great on theme, but it was very entertaining and fun in a way that few games with the simple mechanics of this one can manage to pull off. The graphics were perfect for what the mood of the game is, and the detail of walking backwards was a great touch. The music represented the theme very well. Overall this is a very good story, I am wary to say it is a good game, even though it is entertaining, as it doesn't ever present a challenge. I would easily say this is worthy of being called a game if you had to escape the robber instead of being told that you did.

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 5:50am

HAHAHA XD oh my god dude this is hilarious, I could see the whole " beneath the sir-face" coming from a mile away and it was still funny. Really well job. The theme isn't the best here, but the rest of the game truly makes up for it. Great work :)

DecayConstant says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 6:20am

It was pretty entertaining. I appreciated the humor, and the backward bit.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:17am

Near-perfect score from me. Highly entertaining narrative style, and pretty funny at times.

Boodog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:18am

Funny game! I loved it! Audio, and graphics were awesome!

minism says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:22am

Man, I absolutely love the animation, music and dialog. It would be nice if the platforming sections were a little faster / smoother, but it doesnt detract too much. Nice job.

shyupuff says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:23am

Theme manipulation was fantastic. Story was interesting, didn't really get why the burglar had the mirror though. Funny when it needed to be, scary when it needed to be. Switching of roles was awesome. So good!

JavadocMD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:44am

Bahaha, excellent writing and a very twisty narrative. Graphics and animation were all spot on. Very enjoyable.

Jerick says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:44am

Games like these are the gems I'm looking for in the giant list of games. I loved everything about it, but the art was my favorite part about it.

jrap says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:49am

FUNNY. GORGEOUS. THOUGHTFUL. ENTERTAINING. GENUINELY CLEVER. 11/10.

pythong says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:52am

holy what??! Sir Face gave me a good scare, and kudos on the drawings!
I could imagine this as an introduction to an even bigger story with even more challenges (the quick-time-event not being shot was unfortunately the only one)
Have you ever played Phantom Trick - Ghost Detective? The storytelling reminded me of that

Colorvade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:55am

That was seriously funny and entertaining to watch play out. I'm not sure the 'game' parts of it added anything, but they didn't hurt either.

Nanolotl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:57am

Brilliant.
Really made me laugh.

Spotline says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Great story :D

Garris says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:26pm

It's amazing how much personality and character fits into this little game. Excellent!

Jason Lay says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:23pm

I enjoyed playing this game! I really liked the sound. Sir Face, very creative. Are all the graphics hand drawn?

Clicking with the mouse and controlling with the keyboard was rough at first, but I got used to it and made the game very interesting.

neosam says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Great Game and amazing animations!

terraco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:59am

I didn't plan on sleeping tonight

zdonkeyx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:48am

Simply amazing, I loved every second of it.

Tomski says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:50am

Ahahahaha, what a game. I was waiting for the twist at the end, "You were the mirror the whole time".

Great stuff, loved the audio and aimations, very funny too. Well done!

Robber says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:00am

coolest combination between story and platforming! seriously funny

spotco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:14am

That was a ridiculous amount of content for 48 hours!
(Really great art, music & story)

Also well played, pulling in everything together :)

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:44pm

That was really really entertaining.

Sure, simple gameplay and you kind of forced the theme in, but the narrative was really funny. The drawings were as well. Good one.

Doubstract says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:53pm

WOW! Best game so far! This game going to take really high position!

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:26pm

"you kind of forced the theme in" Come on now, that hurts :( If anyone's interested, I have an explanation on my site regarding my game's relation to the theme: http://www.jonochrome.com/tangents/2014-04-27.html

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:35pm

And I've said this elsewhere, but I haven't said it here yet. Everyone who's commented, thanks so much! Your feedback is very encouraging and it makes me glad to have taken part in Ludum Dare and become sort of a part of the community.

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Had to play all the way to the end! Intriguing :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:19pm

best one ive played so far.. loved the story and the animation was great .. good job man :)

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:44pm

not much of a game, but damn enjoyable to play

conormn says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:34am

Absolutely lovely :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:59am

I really enjoyed that! Amazing amount of stroy for a LD project, and well finished. I guess it was more an interactive story than a game. I was totaly engaged for the whole experience. Good script. Nice one!

lukepilgrim says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:00am

this is my favourite!! loved the stortelling and the artwork.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:20am

Delightful! My favourite part was the sound effect of the face flying away at the end.

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Can't believe the first commenters said "not great on theme". Idiots, man... idiiiots! Fuckin great game - I would pay cash to have this expanded in to a bigger event.

nonentheless says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:22pm

:)
Really love it

Oye Beto says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:51am

I'm surprised. I didn't expect such a deep story. It was creative and fun.

Very polished game in every category, good job.

Ellian says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:26am

Okay, it clearly lacks gameplay...
BUT DAMN, THAT WRITING. That's really, really good. And the art is super fun, the humourous tone is perfect, the story was cool and it was nice to be reminded not to be an ass full of prejudices.
Incredible work here.

May 2, 2014 @ 1:48am

I don't have words to describe what I just played, I only know that I like it! The absolute nonsense humor matched perfectly with the sounds and animation. Excelent job, five stars!

ruerob says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:50am

That was a really interesting game. I like the visuals and the story. Was really fun to play. I really like Sir Face, what a name.

PapyGaragos says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:02pm

I wasn't expecting that.

Nice take on the theme, and good job with the story. It's a shame there is no narrative section in the rating, I don't know where to put all my stars.

petrih says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Absolutely brilliant!

pansapiens says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Really funny and great interpretation of the theme.

miwuc says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Great game! Really nice animations, I'm impressed by everything you've managed to accomplish in 48h.

DonovanWu says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:00am

It's never too much to say that this game is purely awesome from every aspect!

GFM says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:39am

OMG! This was amazing!
When the game started it seemed to be just good... but as the story progressed it got better and better.
The animations were funny, and I really liked the graphics and the music.

May 4, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Impressive game the story is amazing and everything fits well.

May 4, 2014 @ 3:37pm

This plot is better than the last 20 movies i've watched. THAT SUSPENSE!
I can't believe you made it in 24h only... this is just amazing
5/all

FREEZX says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:35pm

So awesome :D

dector says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Cool, cool, cool.

elefantopia says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:19am

The writing was amazing... it really pulls you in. It's funny and kind of moving, with the lesson at the end. The graphics were a bit jarring, but I think it fits the tone of the writing. I liked how you guided the player to click on things by highlighting the items. Great job!

goerp says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 4:09pm

With Flash 8? Well done.
It looks good and has some nice twists.
Funny scenes and enough nice sound.
All in all quite an original experience (maybe not really a game, but who cares?)

LTPATS says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Wow, this was great! I really liked the storytelling, funny and a good message as well. Like others stated the gameplay wasn't super interactive but I didn't mind it, I wanted to play just so I could see what happens next!

On a side note, did the face do a quick upside-down flip at the last second of the game!? I'm tempted to play the entire game again just to see if I'm not crazy.

Melondonut says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 4:56am

how could you think about this kind of story? So interesting and moving.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]