Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Submarine Warfare

by Torri Y - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Now with 100% more sharks!
Float around in your little world with your submarine and shoot some sharks with red-eye!

Firsts:
Projectiles! (Never done that before :()
Ludum Dare!

Lasts:
Not using an engine in LD! (Never making that mistake again)

Uses Java(tm) 8
Controls:
WSAD to move
Click to fire

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#838Audio2.19
#849Humor2.00
#904Theme2.81
#1090Innovation2.27
#1133Mood2.19
#1153Graphics2.14
#1166Fun2.14
#1194Overall2.35
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

longshorts says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:39pm

I found this difficult to navigate before I decided to maximize the window, then got an idea of where the (torpedos?) were going. Killing sharks needs to be more satisfying however, with either a score tally or other feedback.

tiffi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Great work, especially without an engine! wow!

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:09am

I click on it: A java exception has occurred.

I would have bashed you for imposing WASD controls anyway.

Gaspard_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Crashes for me, sorry!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Didn't run on osx! :(

BruceDoh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Same error as GlowingSnail with windows 8.1

dejant says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Doesn't start on linux.

Torri Y says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Please make sure you are using Java 8 (Yes 8) in order to run this game. I wrote it in 8 without realizing that 8 was in dev. Get Java 8 here: http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/javase/downloads/jre8-downloads-2133155.html

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:30pm

I didn't really enjoy playing it. It felt kind of clunky and incomplete.

Gap says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:15pm

I like it :) Good job, Torri

tuxxilla says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:12pm

I did not manage to kill any sharks... however keep up the good work!

minibutmany says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:07pm

The shooting was way above the sub, I couldn't really figure out how to change the direction of my shooting. I like the graphics style though.

whilefun says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:07am

Sorry, can't play it. When I open the jar, I get a java exception right away :(

May 5, 2014 @ 3:45am

But I though they were fish...
Nevermind. You can cheat the game by slipping between the lined submarine, and let the game do the rest. You won't crash into another submarines. Also, the shooting bullet are gone when I push the button rapidly. Fix that and your game will be great. Nice game. :)

May 5, 2014 @ 3:46am

Uh, sorry, I was commenting in a wrong page.
My apologize. I'll try your game soon.

Boodog says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:21am

Great job!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]