Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Blue-Ball Escape

by Tardowyn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In Blue-Ball Escape, you're sword-wielding warrior searching for the source of blue balls filling your land from below.

I have nowhere to serve the web. I have a zip file available to download from DropBox and you can run the HTML file in your browser.

Controls:
WASD or Arrow Keys to move
Left-Click to swing your sword
Esc to view the menu

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1108Fun2.30
#1110Graphics2.25
#1153Innovation2.15
#1172Mood2.00
#1229Overall2.20
#1242Theme1.78
#1669Coolness41%

Comments

srakowski says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:20pm

lol

elefantopia says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:13am

Nice game! It was fun slashing. It was also nice to have instructions during the game play, too. Good job!

lxd1 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:39am

Um? There is no game, it says "Sorry the files here have been deleted or removed"

Tardowyn says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:16am

Sorry! I cleaned up my DropBox and removed these by mistake. Thank! ^.^

Wertle says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:33am

Every time I left click the game freezes up on me :(

psychonull says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:28am

nice game, but every time I left click with the mouse the game freeze .. it's kind of a game killer :S
good job!

dalbinblue says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:41am

I'm not sure what I'm supposed to be doing here. I fought a lot of balls and died. I eventually found another door when through it and fell of the edge of the world. Was there and actual way to find what is creating the balls or was that just some flavor text.

Despite that, good job making a 3D game. Even a basic 3D game is difficult to make, and I know almost nothing about 3D development so that's awesome.

oobie says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:46am

I like the graphics. Good game. Is there any objective?

Fritzendugan says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:38am

I think you can host html and static web files directly from dropbox, just provide a link to the files themselves. I've seen people do it before, but never done it myself.

The first "click" seems to make the game lag a bit, likely loading something big, so might want to look into pre-loading that stuff to avoid the big "freeze" myself and others experienced. Also, it would be nice if the mouse cursor were captured by the game, so I don't keep clicking around on random stuff.

I couldn't really figure out what to do really, either. Spent some time killing some floating balls and explored, but didn't find anything to really do. Some instructive text or a tutorial or something would've went a long way. Even just some signs pointing where to go, or anything really.

48 hours is a short amount of time, so it's understandable not all games get realized to completion. Nonetheless, solid entry, and kudos to you for finding the motivation to actually sit down and make a game this past weekend. I look forward to seeing more from you in the future.

May 2, 2014 @ 10:18am

I never though the balls are attacking me :v

Azatoni says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:49pm

It's like a horror-film: a lot of blue balls pursuit me in the area, which I can not escape))

SimianLogic says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 3:46am

Not really far enough along to give good feedback. Maybe flash the screen red to show you're getting hit? I don't really know what the goal was... I found another door and fell off the planet... was neat to look up and see all the spheres, but couldn't figure out anything else to do.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]