Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Deep Water

by nagual - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Deep Water is about the dangers and opportunities that are beneath the ocean.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#332Mood3.25
#356Humor2.75
#367Audio3.05
#432Theme3.40
#566Graphics3.16
#780Fun2.76
#899Innovation2.60
#953Overall2.76
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

atomic_swerve says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:41am

So much blood. Pretty fun :)

jugglerrob says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:43am

One moment no sharks, next moment 7. Good concept, the difficulty could scale better though.

Zathalos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:51am

Cool game. I liked how the music intensified when I went into the water. Taking treasure back to the surface was a little hard because the sharks were so fast. Good job.

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:24am

I love how the audio changes when you go underwater. When you die you can still move around, which is fun because you get to taunt the sharks lol. Good job :)

nagual says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:42pm

There's a bug on the shark spawn. it will be fixed tonight. sorry about that.

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Very polishded and nice visuals!

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:42pm

Too much blood for me!
But it makes this game funny :)

ccglp says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Blood and sharks are a must to any ocean game!

Airwaffle says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Cute! Maybe change so that the movespeed isn't faster then the screen scrolling speed? The "your dead" is also hard to see when the background is covered in blood.

Other then that, fun game, nice touch that you are able to control both the boat and the diver.

nagual says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:56pm

@airwaffle: all those are changed already. i don't think i can send those fixes since they were done after the deadline. thanks anyway for the feedback. and for playing :)

BoneDaddy says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:34pm

No idea how to pick up the treasure. Although I did get one once. The audio in this is amazing! Really good job on that. The camera work could be much better though

koe415 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Fun little game. Good audio work with the transitions from ship to swimming being really noticeable. Sharks are pretty unforgiving and swimming down for the keys and treasures gets pretty tense. Bug I ran into was dying as I was near by boat but still being able to get into my boat with the treasure.

nagual says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:43am

to open the chest you'll need the key. a fish (green) carries it. then it's picking it up and carrying it back to the boat.
sometimes you'll control the dead diver. trying to find the bug. since camera, difficulty and feedbacks have been updated, even if i fix this bug i don't think i can submit the new version :/

Garris says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:08am

Good concept, good graphics, great audio. That deep tone that runs while you play really gives a sense of danger. The difficulty could stand to scale a little slower, but overall, this is a lot of fun.

nagual says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:13am

thanks a lot for all the comments. this was my first entry and i couldn't be happier.

Sanguine says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:18pm

The camera was a bit slow, but the mood was great! Couldn't find out how to pick up the treasures either unfortunately

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]