Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

It Came From Below!

by TowelKing - 48 Hour Compo Entry

They came without warning. Navigate a deadly sea with only your sonar to reveal the monsters below. Try to catch as many fish as you can before death finds its mark.

Goal: Catch as many fish as you can (highest score I've seen is 14)

Controls:
Up arrow-move forward
Left/Right arrow-rotate ship
1-sonar impulse
2-catch fish

Tools:
Unity3d
Photoshop

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#13Theme4.16
#157Innovation3.70
#508Overall3.22
#517Fun3.06
#599Mood2.94
#729Humor2.20
#745Graphics2.86
#993Audio1.68

Comments

Shire says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:43am

This game was really stressful, but, extremely compelling.
9/10 would play again.

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:43am

This fits the theme extremely well. There's nothing spookier than heading in one direction, using the sonar, and then flipping biscuits trying to turn the other way to avoid the monster that's directly in front of you. Great job! :)

CustomPhase says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:54am

That was fun to play. But i wish there was more happening. And another minor complaint - i would rebind 1 and 2 keys to somethign else.

Karmalis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:16am

Interesting. Didn't really have a problem with the keys. I've tried to catch fish for a few times, then couldn't understand my sudden deaths at first. And those would come so soon, it would almost startle me as it I would be caught unexpected (my problem was not checking the sonar enough).
Loved it. Really captures the theme and I had a lot of fun with it.

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:30am

I love the concept, it a really fun game!

clearlyspam23 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:31am

Pretty fun game, would have liked a better animation when you lose. Good mood!

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:35am

Great game with a cool concept. Well done! There's no problems with the 1 and 2 keys, but they ARE weird and unconventional, so maybe you can change them.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:39am

Good mood.
The water is scary...

Great job.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:11am

The fear of the unseen made the entire charm of this game. Wonderful take on the theme. Great work!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:44am

Really fun game.

lorniebear says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:19pm

It was a bit scary

littleball says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:16pm

It's quite hard, but I like the idea. Well done!

Galan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:18pm

REALLY like the use of the theme!

dook says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Hehe, you're right, this is a lot like my entry!

So I think you had a great idea, obviously, five stars for the theme ;) Seriously, though, it works pretty well. And it was pretty scary to hit the sonar and see monsters all around.

Joshua_Burr says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Nice idea for a game.

BoneDaddy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:49am

Extremely difficult. I'm always getting killed very quickly.

Catman says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Interesting, it was quite tense!

May 4, 2014 @ 8:17am

Lovely idea!

Button-placement on 1 and 2 is really unintuitive though.

Ragzouken says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:05pm

would be interesting to have some ability to avoid monsters after running into them blind (though obv much difficult than smartly avoiding them) - still seemed pretty doable after working it out :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]