Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Undercover

by Shivur - 48 Hour Compo Entry

For my first Ludum Dare, I choose to interpret the theme.
"Beneath the surface" can refer to things that are hidden from the public, to lies, hypocrisy and to things that are Beneath surfaces of the appearances.

So I treated this theme with the background storie of a dictator who try to hide crimes to the internationnal community. The gameplay also reflect this theme since you have to find an informant and hide his assassination from journalists.

Hope you enjoy and be indulgent since it's my first Ludum Dare.

Since the difficulty to find the informant is a recurring problem, I will give a hint: To know what is beneath the surface of somebody, don't look at their appearance, but at their behaviors.

P.s. You need to install java 1.7 or 1.8 instead of 1.6 to run the game correctly or else it will show a "could not fin main class" error.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#517Theme3.31
#536Graphics3.19
#608Innovation2.98
#659Humor2.29
#867Audio2.09
#899Mood2.60
#961Overall2.75
#1070Fun2.37

Comments

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:18am

I can't get this running on my mac, either from the Finder or from Terminal. Any specific instructions?

renatopp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:24am

Your web link is actually a Jar, inside a Zip, inside newsgrounds?! Well, I think your idea is pretty good and very innovative, but you didn't provided exactly a game. You could think in complete gameplay mechanic for this, I mean, even after ludum dare, I would love play such game.

Shivur says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:58am

Yeah sorry. I'm new at this so I don't know how to make compatible with everything and embed in a browser. I will do my best to solve these problems for the next Ludum Dare.

For the gameplay my intention was to make a game that is fast to play for Ludum Dare. Something more story driven and based on the ambiance and less on pure scoring.

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:16am

Hey

I couldn't quite figure out how to play. It wasn't clear to me who had the information and who didn't. I suggest providing some more detailed instructions.

That being said, the game looks amazing. The controls are good, and the ambience is really good. Great job for 48h, it's really impressive. A great concept.

Ratchetmon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:30am

Funny game.

SlamBlasta says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:33am

This game has a lot of potential. I can see where you were going with it, but the instructions were somewhat unclear in telling you how to identify who has a note. It was a cool take on a stealth game!

Shivur says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:47am

Well I wanted it to be part of the game concept to make you use your brain to identify something that is hidden from the sight. It's a kind of a puzzle so I will not tell you but there is a way to identify it.

Thanks for your comments!

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:56am

"Could not find the main class: Starter. Program will exit." I get this error when trying to launch the game...

Mihael Medan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:03am

Couldn't quite figure out how to play. I got a few different newspaper titles. No audio sadly. The rest is pretty ok. Good job, and congratulations on finishing! :)

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:07am

Another game that only support wasd, to the dismay of AZERTY users like me. The game is simple and unoriginal. The start and game-over screens are full of grammatical and spelling errors. Well, then it's hard to make a 48hr game, and don't mean to be mean. Kudos for managing for having managed to release a playable game, and thanks for your participation.

Suese says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:38am

Not sure how to murder without being noticed. The visuals with the text are great. The main sprites.. not so much.

angelk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:19am

I really like the mission select screen. This is the most well developed backstory I've seen so far. I understand what you're saying about wanting the player to figure out things for themselves without telling them anything. I'm not sure if I didn't experiment long enough, but it seemed that there were no clues to be gained outside of trial and error, which makes it difficult to complete. Great job with the theme.

Shivur says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:12pm

For the audio I recorded a rain sound (lucky it was raining during Ludum Dare)but I had trouble importing it. So I decided to focus on visual.

Oups, I didn't think of azerty keyboard. I will solve this problem for next Ludum Dare.

Sorry for the errors,I tried to correct as much as possible, but my primary language is not English so it's harder for me.

For the lack of originality and simplicity. I think it's a question of taste. Some found it original and hard to identify the informant. I think once you figured out how to identify the informant, the game becomes very simple. Maybe I should find a balance next time.

Thanks for your comments, it helps me improve.

Mekuri says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Hard game to figure out- But for a first, this is quite good. The visuals are pretty decent! Good job!

MidCry says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Like the cool background ... game play is kind of hard but , great mixture of political issues ...

Covenant says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:13pm

I didn't understand exactly what I had to do, but I had fun not doing it! :) The idea is very cool, would like to see it completed with some more gameplay mechanisms!
Graphics were awesome!

Jaenis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:14pm

Sadly can't get this to run. I'll get a popup saying "Could not find the main class: Starter. Program will exit."

Sergraz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:26pm

I found out that to fix "Could not find the main class: Starter. Program will exit." you should install java 7 or 8 (jre), java 6 won't work.

As for the game, I really liked idea and theme interpretation. Gameplay is unpolished, but still fun.

Shivur says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Hmm It seem it's harder than I thought to find the informant so I will give a hint in the commentary.

For the bug "Could not find the main class: Starter. Program will exit." I don't know what cause it. If a pro can give me a hint I can fix it for the next Ludum Dare.

Shivur says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Thanks Sergraz, I posted my answer before I saw yours.

teambrookvale says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:35am

I was a bit lost what to do but it was fun and art is cool

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:41am

The graphics are good, but I have no clue what I am must do. Just walk around and it is over after a few seconds.

Snoother says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Great concept and art. Particularly love the use of theme. The instructions are a bit unclear, though. And there's a typo on the first screen: perpreting instead of perpetrating, I'm guessing.

TeamInCharge says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:06am

Yes! Awesome take on the theme :) Puzzle is tricky, I still can't identify the informer. The sprites are the same, they seem to behave the same way, I've even started to speculate if they pass the documents on to each other... could you give a hint? or is that cheating? :) I also did a puzzle for this LD, although I tested it on a couple of people, and I had to simplify the whole thing. Turns out that people are still having trouble with it, yet not nearly as tricky as yours :D congrats, I'll continue to try and find a pattern!!

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Great concept, interesting interpretation. Congrats, nice debut entry!

Shivur says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Yes! They can pass the document to each other, I wrote it on the yellow note on starting screen. I accept that my game may be difficult to understand and hard to solve and I will try to take care of this problem next time, but if people doesn't read the instructions, it's a problem I can't solve. :)

TeamInCharge says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:04pm

I got it! I spent hours playing this one, can't believe i missed the passing on of documents!! Supercool game. I love a challenge :D

Shivur says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Congratulation!

hbocao says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:36pm

I like the concept but I'm not so sure about the execution. It was hard to find out what I actually had to do. But, that being said, you made a very good job in 48h and for your first time. A music could really set the mood right up. And you nailed the use of theme. Keep working, man!

whilefun says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:33am

Very nice interpretation of the theme. I enjoyed the visuals, as well as the news clippings/post-it notes/etc of the menus and game over screens. I found it very difficult to find the informants however. Nice job overall :)

Waterman7 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:33pm

This is an interesting concept, good job!

copain says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:42am

finally I finish it, but I'm not sure I found the "clue". Good Game despite some imperfections, I hope you continue for the next LD.

Penguincat says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 2:28am

I like the premise but I couldn't figure out what to do; it could definitely have used some basic instructions on the controls and gameplay.

Shivur says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:23am

Read the yellow post-it!!!

Blanky says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 10:12am

I like the concept. Nice work.

kirbytails7 says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Interesting concept, but I really can't tell how to win.

small trouble says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 8:40pm

I wasn't able to find them but I like the idea behind it.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]