Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Miner Catastrophe

by Mincemeat - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Name's a pun not a typo =p. Its not GREAT but I'm pretty happy with it as this was my first Ludum! Was a lot of fun, looking forward to the next one.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#792Audio2.28
#971Humor1.82
#996Theme2.62
#1100Mood2.28
#1193Fun2.00
#1194Innovation2.03
#1204Graphics1.93
#1223Overall2.21

Comments

ehtd says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:38am

Cool you decided to participate in LD, good job!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:38am

Hey, its a nice little platformer, the commands are a little bit unresponsive but I like the concept !

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:00am

the game doesn't work for me, clicking on the buttons does nothing

Boodog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:05am

Pretty cool game!

telaviv says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:25am

no linux version :(

Tesrym says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:26am

I clicked story mode.
Game did not start?

ky533541 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:13am

I really liked the art in most of the game. Very complete seeming, with the loading screen and those kind of nice touches.

A bit more time dedicated to polish on this (ie style the buttons on the title screen) and it would be great! Nice work.

puckers says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:20am

Pretty cool but the controls were a little sluggish. Nice work!

CustomPhase says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Im sorry, but the game is bad. The framerate is low, you get stuck on sides and there are not much you can do anyway. I hope next time you will do better, no offense :)

Andrew Adams says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Fun little game.

monaarc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Good game, the graphics are not fantastic but the gameplay is good

schnüt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:11pm

The concept is not a bad idea, although I found it difficult to control the player and did not really understand where my enemies come from - and who is my enemy.
But with some improvements in gameplay, it might be fun. ;-)

ezombort says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Not able to click any of the buttons in the web player..

deathray says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:14am

^ Same here. :(

Jed T. says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Love the destructible environment! Story is good :) I just wish the controls are more responsive also there is a bug when I try to jump the height sometimes is too high and sometimes it's too low and I get trapped.

Thorig says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:05am

Good try for your first LD. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]