Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Trufflehunt

by ruerob - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In Truffelhunt you have to find truffles with the help of your piglet. Just click with the mouse on one of the 9 little earth heaps and hold the mousebutton. Your piglet then will go to that heap and start its search. If you release the mousebutton your little piggy stops its search. Be careful and dont stop your search to late, because if your piggy has found all truffles in a heap it will do as piglets do and eat them all.

I hope you enjoy this little game and will have a lot of fun,

ruerob.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#193Humor3.15
#404Graphics3.40
#515Audio2.84
#559Theme3.26
#626Innovation2.96
#743Overall2.99
#789Mood2.73
#870Fun2.66

Comments

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:11am

So cute and enjoyable!

Aaants says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Nice work. Cool idea and graphics :)

ndebruyn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:09am

Good job

Liens says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:11am

Cute game. It's a pretty hard game though, because I couldn't tell how many were in each pile but I made it to level 2 at least!

Chronoberry says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:14am

Nooo all my truffles! Awesome design and graphics! Requires -precise- controls haha

davidB says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:37am

Funny. Is it "minesweeper" adaptation?

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:41am

A very original setting. I like the gambling aspect of deciding when to stop looking for truffles. Enjoyed playing it!

neekobus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:16am

Interesting but is there any tactic to win ? He eat too much :p
Maybe you should add some clues to show how many truffles left.

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:07am

Got to level 3. Became a bit monotonous. Eat one, move. Eat one, move. seemed to be the only effective strategy. But overall it's a win :D

wicht says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:43am

*nuffnuffnuff*

jestar_jokin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:51am

Very cool, love the chiptunes and sound effects! Nice art and cute style. The gameplay feels a bit like gambling, though. ;)

VictorDoval says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:59am

Nice idea and great development!

matheod says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:59am

Nof Nof Nof :D

At the start I tried to click on the plot at the border of the square :D

matheod says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:02am

Level 4 :p

ruerob says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:28am

Thanks for all the comments. I just wanted to say, that there are 5 levels. After solving the last you get your entry in the highscore.

WeaselZone says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Nuffnuffnuff <3 Very cute! I loved the music!

radmars says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:27pm

nice job, I like that it gets a bit intense trying to get the most out of each hole, but i wish it felt a little less random. perhaps some sort of minesweeper mechanic where you could get a hit how deep each surrounding hole is? who knows! either way, was fun. :D

Marcellus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:30pm

cute graphics, nice sounds but this is very hard and luck based only.
Managed to make it to level 3.

GamerTaters says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:30pm

love it, it was really fun love how you use the pig to find the truffles. :D

borrismoose says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:12pm

I almost made it to level three, was one away and then I lost it. Tough game but a good idea.

TheLastBanana says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Cute! I would have liked a little more strategy, but it was fun to play nonetheless.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Nice and simple, quite entertaining!

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:15am

The sound of the pig eating them all is funny. Nice game.

GrooveMan says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Aww, this was really cute. And deceptively hard to play well. But then, cute and challenging is a great combination~

terraco says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:32am

haha nuf nuf nuf. reminds me of box box box simulator

angelk says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:44am

Very cute, the sfx for the pig eating the truffle is fantastic. Everything works well together, nice entry.

Zutty says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Neat idea

BasselGaming says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Really fun!

May 4, 2014 @ 4:47pm

I liked the "bet" system!

mrexcessive says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Hi. Piglet very nice, couldn't determine when just before time to stop, so was random (for me anyway) choosing stop point. Nice sounds!

May 4, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Nice graphic and the "push-your-luck" mechanic is interesting although it seems entirely based on luck (at least on the first try)

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:28am

Cute, if not that replayable since it's just luck...

TeamFlare says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:50am

nice game!

cageinabird says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:59am

The presentation is charming. As others have said, the mechanic feels like it's based on luck rather than skill, so I didn't feel responsible for my success or failure.

May 10, 2014 @ 1:27am

Simple, but cool game. I included it in part 18 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/mAtRG2njZHE

voxel says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 8:37pm

too me a little time to realise that i was looking at the piglet's *tail* when he's truffling. Charming stuff

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]