Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Planitia

by TheZiggy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"Planitia" is a simple game about mining. INSTRUCTIONS: 'W' to Jump, 'A' to move left, 'D' to move right, 'T' to teleport to top, Click on a brick to break it, Click on the shop to sell ores, you will automatically purchase new pickaxes when you get enough money.

This was my first Ludum Dare! I had such a great time creating this game; I usually don't have much motivation to finish games, but this gave me enough motivation to have a lot of fun creating the game and actually finishing! I'll definitely be competing again in the next Ludum Dare.

I'm very glad how the game turned out. I am actually a bit stunned myself that I finished it, especially considering I was quite busy doing other things this weekend. There were quite a bit of things I would have liked to add, but I simply ran out of time, and they weren't that important.

Best of luck to everyone!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#424Theme3.41
#799Humor2.11
#924Audio1.91
#1078Fun2.36
#1112Mood2.25
#1117Overall2.53
#1175Graphics2.06
#1201Innovation2.00

Comments

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Really fits the theme. Good job!

KayZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Nice game with a very special way to mine.

The jumping felt wrong, but still a good game. Good job on finishing it.

TheZiggy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:02pm

@Kbm Thank You :)

@KayZ Thank You :3 Also, the jumping was meant to look like the way characters used to jump in old video games, which may be why.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:04pm

This was cool, the blurry house takes away from the game though and there should be some more animations. Good work though!

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Interesting digging mechanic. The collisions/jumping was a little weird, and there really wasn't much progression, but I liked the idea behind it. Good job :)

TheZiggy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:12pm

@conch This is my first real time doing art for a video game. I was actually working on animations but didn't get enough time to implement them; some of the animations are actually still in the source :3

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Textures look like minecraft ones x)
Of course, a mining game fits well with this theme, so good job! :)

Galan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:33pm

Nice start! The clicking to dig does become a bit tedious though. Maybe if the better pickaxes allowed you to dig faster it would feel better?

TheZiggy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:39pm

@Galan I was going to add a pickaxe level 5: click and drag to dig. But like a bunch of other things, I ran out of time :/


Also, again, everyone, thank you SO much for all the kind comments and constructive criticism. It actually does mean a lot. This is sort of the first time the "general public" has played one of my games. I've had games available on the web and stuff, but usually only my friends played them :)

microapple says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:12am

Nice game. Pretty fun mining mechanics.

Graphics were a little blurry, and there is a bug that I can mine materials that are far away from the character. Impressive for 48 hrs!

TeamEagle says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:56pm

the new diablo? click click click away! :)

grayhaze says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Nice job for your first effort and definitely come back next time. The concept of this was quite good, but could do with a few tweaks. There's no indication of how much the next pickaxe will cost. You're able to mine blocks without being anywhere near them, or even needing to open a tunnel to them and the platforming controls could do with being a bit smoother as they're quite glitchy. Despite all that though, I played this for longer than many entries I've looked at so far! :)

small trouble says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Fits the theme quite well. The collision is quite weird sometimes.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Great game, much more fun than it looked at first glance! :) Could need some improvements in sound or music, but the concept of digging down to get stuff you can sell at the shop is really good! Go on and improve on this, might be a hit... ;)

borrismoose says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:54pm

There is something oddly therapeutic about endlessly clicking bricks. Like others, I think the jumping could have used some work but it looks like you were working towards some nice progression with the pick axe upgrades. I imagine you ran out of time to take it as far as would have liked?

TheZiggy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:01pm

@borris Yeah. The was a ton of features and minor fixes i would have liked to make. But It just so happened I was going away that weekend and only had about 15 hours to work on it :/ But I got the majority of the game features in, which is fine.

If your really curious, take a look at the source. I've actually commented out chunks of code and have a bunch of extra stuff on the sprite sheet that I never had time to implement. :P

Afal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:27pm

This was quite the challenge until I realised that I could teleport to the top! Nice work :D

taocayo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:23am

Nice job. It seem the jump is done using the velocity property while gravity uses the physics engine. Have you looked at Rigidbody.AddForce or maybe Rigidbody.AddExplosionForce if you want a wacky effect. Kudos on finishing!

SirJson says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:18pm

The collision detection seems to be a bit wonky

ioboi says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Meets the theme greatly :)
Good work and kudos for finishing it!

adamwfindlay says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Nice fit for the theme!

pixelpig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:52pm

A great little game, feels like Minecraft and Terraria rolled into one. I spent a while mining everything, you should work on the jumping though :) good job completeing it, I know how you feel - my entry this year was the first game I've ever finished.

Lucariatias says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Physics felt horrendously broken, jumping definitely needs work, and there should be a limit to reach.
The selling mechanic was decent, and ore population is done nicely.
SFX were half decent, they're not great by any means, but they were there, which is more than can be said for so many other games.
Music would have been nice.

robcozzens says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:48am

That is really cool. Nice simple mechanic.

pjchardt says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:34am

Nice start :) It took awhile to get Level 2 pick ax and then I quickly jumped to 4. Might want to balance out the levels a bit more. Also, I managed to dig myself into the center of the earth and fell forever into the nothingness of the core.

TeamFlare says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 7:21pm

nice start!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]