Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Robot Digger 3000

by fernandomdr - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a robot and need to dig and find a golden nugget.

You can perform a limit of moviments and can store a limit of instructions denoted by the robot's battery and memory.

To control the robot you need to program him using the left panels.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#229Innovation3.55
#467Fun3.11
#693Overall3.05
#700Theme3.10
#1241Graphics1.70
#1895Coolness28%

Comments

tschery says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:37pm

kind of cool that you have the gameplay itself is coding, though I feel like this keeps away many ppl from actually playing / enjoying the game

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Always like the kinds of games where you play by programming, and this one pulls it off nicely, despite being so simple.

frankbsad says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:55am

I like this take on the theme, good work.

Sim00n says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:00am

I liked the game. I guess it's made for a small demographics but hey, us programmers need games for ourselves too. Cool concept.

eerongal says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:00am

interesting take on the theme!

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:01am

This was pretty cool, although as a programmer I am biased. The puzzles were simple but well designed and paced. Only complaint is I wish the commands were shorter to type. Good job!

ElStevo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:02am

Good programming game ! I could be really fun with more polish and more commands

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:03am

Hi. Always liked the idea of games where player programs, is a tricky thing to pull off. I would suggest simplifying the syntax... not sure whether "move" or "rotate" is necessary... maybe they could be optional at least ? A little bit of sound on each move would give a bit more personality to the robot. I finished all except last level, where I got bored measuring... Actually, perhaps a very pale grid would be useful

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:11am

I may be biased, because I'm a programmer, but that was wicked fun. I couldn't get the last level under 5 instructions though. I felt like there was a more elegant solution, but alas I couldn't find it.

randoman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:27am

It took me a while to figure out that the level 8 was made of "rocks". Despite that I really like the idea but I think that this would be very hard to people who aren't familiar with programming (mainly the last level, the others are ok)

fernandomdr says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Thanks everyone, I had short time this weekend, I just could not put everything I wanted, but maybe after I'll improve some mechanics, graphics, audio and add the really difficult levels :D

GagaPete says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Very unique gameplay.

BadgerPriest says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:02am

There need to be more games like this. Hats off to you.

TeamEagle says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 4:12pm

nice idea, would be cool if they were just draggable buttons or something. It requires some time to keep typing the same thing over and over.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]