Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

PiranhaPlayground

by tschery - 48 Hour Compo Entry

EDIT: If the web version doesnt work for you try this
http://88.198.161.6/tschery/piranhaplayground/game.swf

To be honest I have no idea how I ended up with this game. My initial idea was that you play dad or mom who then save their children from beeing eaten by "sand-piranhas". uhm and the sand-piranha thing? no idea either where that came from xD

Anyways, contrary to my expectations this is actually a finished game. It has music, gameplay and even a start and score screen. For somebody who entered basically after the first day Im quite happy with my result.

Cheers to all the people who will be playing and rating this =) Ill rate yours too.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#57Humor3.75
#212Theme3.66
#474Graphics3.28
#526Innovation3.10
#534Audio2.81
#596Fun2.97
#709Overall3.03
#730Mood2.80
#1669Coolness41%

Comments

tschery says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 10:53pm

for some reason the web / android links wont show up so use that one:
http://tschery.com/piranhaplayground/

NTR says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:03am

Ha ha, didn't even know that sand-piranhas existed before this.

fserb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:23am

thanks for letting us know about the danger of sand piranhas... nice idea. :)

snooze82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:49pm

dune - piranha-edition? :D nice idea

GagaPete says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:40pm

The game looks very polished even though I had to play a few times before I understood, why the sand-piranha needs longer to jump on some tiles (need to dive through sand). Oh, and the texts in the window don't show up here.
Feels very well done but should have crying babies for more realism.

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Pretty fun. Those buckets are sentient I swear. What terrible childhood event led you to come up with this idea?

kiririn51 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:52pm

For some reason, the game didn't load http://puu.sh/8rvfy.png this is what shows up.

tschery says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:53pm

gagapete: I did even record a crying sound, but didnt manage to squeeze it in due to my late start

heychinaski: as I mentioned I have no idea how I ended up with this game xD the initial idea was the total opposite of its outcome, but to implement it in that way it was faster =S

tschery says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:55pm

kiririn51: the url is totally fine, this points to my server. you see the ip because I was to lazy to set up some domain-nameserver yet =) though the game not loading up sounds strange, thanks for reporting! maybe just wait a bit longer till the flash-file was loaded?

AngryPriest says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Cool game, I really like the visuals. Damn those buckets!

Tomski says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Really funny idea, couldn't get the web version to run on firefox though (android worked great though)

DannyG59 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:05pm

haha very nice little game and one of the most unique takes on the theme I have seen :)

davidc. says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:06pm

enjoyed how you took the idea an played around with it, but gets very receptive, could of used with a little more extras now and again

dook says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:07pm

I couldnt get it to work until I typed in the full path to the swf file:
http://88.198.161.6/tschery/piranhaplayground/game.swf
Silly game, but I kinda like it! Perhaps some more sense behind which tiles to choose? I just clicked more or less randomly and died when a bucket spawned just as I clicked :)

tschery says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:23pm

dook thanks for your feedback towards that issue. Ill look into that =)

GreatBigJerk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Very twisted! I like!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Fun, pretty awesome music. Nice job.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:35am

Nice game and concept, took a few attempts to understand but once I did I enjoyed it. Very enjoyable game despite the late start.

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Great... now i never will come near a sand pit again xD

May 1, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Strange humor ;) Would be cool if buckets would announce themselves kinda. Sometimes they pop into view right before my piranha makes the jump.

May 1, 2014 @ 11:51pm

Man, this game is brutal. The whole time I was thinking "can you do this?" TEN STARS FOR BABY KILLING

Thorig says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Love this game. It is really funny.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]