Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Deep Maze

by hexabeast - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In Deep Maze you'll need to have a good memory.

Follow the paths with good Color and you live.
Follow the paths with bad Color and you die.

Because if you choose the wrong way...


Commands:
D/A or D/Q = right/left
W or Space = jump

WARNING: The web version worked only on FireFox for me, IE and Chrome showed an error, and I had not enough time to fix it :(
I recommand you to use the Java version if you have java installed on your system.

This game was made with Java/Eclipse/LibGDX/Photoshop/Tiled

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#544Innovation3.08
#669Humor2.28
#691Fun2.87
#717Overall3.00
#980Mood2.49
#1029Theme2.54
#1045Audio1.39
#1064Graphics2.35

Comments

smartties says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:13pm

It's the first time i heard about Ludum dare, and i was really impress with this game.
A retro game with innovative gameplay. Moreover it is soft.
You have to play this game !

Pete_H says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:28am

error parsing file: map2.tx :(

Pete_H says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:28am

on the web version.

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:49am

I know :(

That's why I recommand using a recent version of Firefox or the Java version

SyBen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Not my kind of game, but liked the idea of a "non random" maze

sknoslo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:48pm

My memory is so bad! Nice game.

Maek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Great game but it' really hard.

Agreon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:49pm

This Game has some very innovative ideas!

NikinCZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Blackness with lot of colorfull rectangles.

CheeseyBob says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Definitely the best game I've played so far! A cool concept well executed. Loved the gaphics style and animations.

Belingo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Nice game idea, my memory is very bad ;)

cageinabird says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:42pm

It's an interesting idea, but I'm not a fan of trial and error gameplay too much.

ccglp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Concept so clever, I thought we all have bad memory xD

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:24pm

"trial and error gameplay too much."
If you remember the colors, you can finish the game without any error, but it's not easy ;)

Zerod says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Nice i Love LibGDX too :)

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:55pm

@Zerod: I installed LibGDX last tuesday, and began to learn it friday for this ludum dare :)
After making this little game, I can say I like it too! Simple, multiplatform and powerful.

João Kucera says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:30pm

That's a innovation!

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Fun game, shows how bad my memory is!

minibutmany says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Mad hard! I like the idea of merging a memory game with a platformer.

Seraphina says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:55pm

I'm going to blame my numerous deaths on still being tired from this weekend. Neat little game.

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Thanks !

DevWouter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:47pm

The game flashes continues on my screen (IE11) for some reason.

dosER_42 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:48pm

The game crashed on start.

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: ThePond.exe
Application Version: 0.0.0.0
Application Timestamp: 535eb84c
Fault Module Name: ig4icd32.dll
Fault Module Version: 8.14.10.2230
Fault Module Timestamp: 4cc50139
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 002092cd
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
Locale ID: 1033

dosER_42 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:50pm

sorry, missed comment (previous one)

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:51pm

The web version doesn't work well, as I said. I recommand the jar or Android version (or Web with Firefox)

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:52pm

I forgive you dosER ;)

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:18pm

You're right, doesn't work on many browsers :(

torcado194 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:45pm

interesting concept! though some of the patterns weren't in the origional reference, and someone could easily take a screenshot.

Zephyr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:12am

Not a big fan of memory games, but this was well done.

mandrake says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:15am

This ran nicely on my android tablet when I figured out where to tap in order to move and jump.

otato says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:16am

Graphics style was simple but well done. Some sounds/music would've been nice, but otherwise well done!

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:18am

Kinda hate the trial-and-error principle.
Things would've been way less frustrating if there would've been checkpoints.

Jerick says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:11am

I am super bad at memorizing things like this, so this game is super hard for me!

KevinWorkman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:52am

Interesting idea. Although as others have said, the trial and error does become tedious. Maybe if it was faster paced that wouldn't be as frustrating.

hexabeast says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:20am

It's notre really trial and error: all the good paths are given to you at the beginning of the game. If you remember them you can finish the game at the first try...

Logun says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:47am

I like how he jumps :D
A bit punitive, it is hard to retry everytime from spawn !

mollymus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:59am

Aww, I love playing games by other libgdx users - unfortunately I get an error 'Error parsing file: map2.tmx' when trying to run it in Chrome:( Ill come back and see if its been fixed later! Good luck!=)

hexabeast says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:03pm

mollymus, please try the jar version or the web version on Firefox, it doesn't work of chrome because big tmx maps (here ≈250*350) don't work well with web version on LibGDX games.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:44pm

nice concept.. thanks for reminding me how rubbish my memory is haha :)

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Pretty good, i concentrated on just memorizing the good colors without symbols and then choose either them (if available) or other colors WITH symbols. Worked pretty well.

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:48pm

That pixel stickman has such a cute way of jumping! Very entertaining, and smart idea. Great for mobile.

Lucariatias says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:23pm

A novel idea. I loved the graphical style and the platforming/puzzling balance was handled almost perfectly.
Perhaps use less patterns, they were difficult to remember and I ended up screenshotting them at the beginning.
The collisions seemed slightly off, I could jump through the ceiling.
Very impressed with what you did, although more content would have been nice.

hexabeast says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Thanks Lucariatias!

tomvert says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Interesting memory mechanics, there's a lot to remember right at the start, maybe you could have start with just a few symbols ? Anyway good job :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]