Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Killer Without Color

by GlowingSnail - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game is about playing an apex predator, lurking beneath the surface of the arctic seas, preying on unsuspecting seals chilling on floes.

The downloadable zip contains the Windows version, the Linux version, and the source.

For Windows:
- Just run "Killer Without Color LD05.exe"

For Linux:
- Get Love 0.9.0 or 0.9.1 from http://www.love2d.org
- Feed it the file "Killer Without Color LD05.love"

The source is inside the .exe file: Just open the .exe file with 7-zip.
The source is also inside the .love file : Just open the .love file with 7-zip.

Made by zwzsg with Love, for the Ludum Dare of april 2014.

Animated screenshot (gif): http://cpc.cx/9D9

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#476Humor2.54
#540Fun3.03
#659Theme3.15
#690Innovation2.88
#908Overall2.82
#963Mood2.52
#1018Graphics2.45
#1035Audio1.45

Comments

Crefossus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:44am

Although it's not completely finished, this was actually a lot of fun. The seals actually have pretty satisfying ai. Exploration (a dive to the bottom! - how moody.) and figuring out the movement mechanics was fun.

aneeslol says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:53am

I really liked the controls, they gave a good sense of speed. Sliding around upside down was also quite amusing :)

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:25am

Very fun and addictive!

dartsdev says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:37am

Fun Game AI needs a bit of work, plenty of replayability. great entry.

JALgames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:46am

I like the idea and the game seems quite polished (there is even a ground), but the graphics should be overhauled

Custard Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:50am

Awesome. Felt great. I bet it could be much more with some time. Fun when they try to swim away, and you need to corner them.

lief says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:52am

Nice, solid basic gameplay. I chased a seal to the seabed and then back up, it leapt clear of the water and I followed. It left a satisfying cloud of blood in the air as I hit it with force.

My 4 yr old daughter then played it (she just got a seal trading card today talking about killer whales being their predator) and loved it and I have to keep it on the computer.

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:02am

For the graphics: the rules of LD48 imposed that I made them myself, during those 48hr. And I'm more a coder than an artist.

I surprised myself by managing to draw a decent orca and passable seal with a pencil and piece of paper (that I then redrew with a pen, scanned, cleaned, retouched, colored, etc..). Took little time for a nice result. By "nice", I mean, coming from someone like me who's used to saying "such a pity I can't draw".

The use of the particle system adds a lot to the graphical prettiness, and wasn't at all planned initially.

So personally, I was expecting much worse graphics, coming from myself.

The only thing I wish, is to have had the time for animated orca and seal. Either by deforming polygons, or via sprite-sheets. That orca really ought to flex its body when swimming.

gabbsson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:02am

Cool! Was delighted to see I could kill seals from under the ice by cracking it. Really solid game in my opinion, only thing I was a cool splash-effect coming in and out of the water.

micdoodle8 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Nicely done. The controls are great, it's fun even without the seals :) There's some minor collision issues, but great job overall.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Always nice to see some quality love-games! :D
The controls felt like they needed a bit of work, but I loved the graphics, with the bubbles and destructible ice! Good stuff! :D

Khopa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Sorry i can't do that, too much cruelty for these poor seals x)

---------

Chasing and sliding feels great :)

SenorDiablo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Really cool game. Fun and good seal ai ehehe. Also really cool when you swim to the bottom as I presumed that wouldnt be possible. Chasing one of those slippery fellows down was good fun:)

neosam says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:53pm

The idea is good, and I also like the input handling and if you add a possibility to win next on your next game, it would make it great!

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Fun, simple game. I like the handling of the whale and the depth of the sea.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:56am

The Linux build works on OSX too (if you have Love installed).

josefnpat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:30am

Very cool game! It's good looking and the controls are solid.

I'm not sure what the point is, there doesn't seem to be a win or lose condition. Nice job!

jeffz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:39am

I had some trouble playing with a touchpad, but otherwise it was cool. Well done!

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:41am

You are right:
- You cannot win.
- You cannot lose.

Depending on where you draw the lines, I may have actually failed to make a game...

ActionRemix says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:51am

The increasing height of the gradients as you descend expresses the sense of depth quite well.

Maniulo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Those poor, tasty seals. There's so much fun in hunting them, I couldn't resist.

ryangatts says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:25am

Being an orca was fun :)

May 1, 2014 @ 3:01am

I believe that this game has lacks of design, it's simply based on killing sea lions only. And that's it. I get no feedback if I'm doing good or not. The game has no audio and the animations are poor(if there is any). But the controls are ok. I also tried to open the Source but seems like it's the same executable file the author provided in the Windows build section.

GlowingSnail says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:06am

As I said:
- The source is inside the .exe file: Just open the .exe file with 7-zip.
- The source is also inside the .love file : Just open the .love file with 7-zip.

A .love file is just a renamed .zip file. The game exe is made by appending the content of the .zip/.love to a love.exe.

You are right about the lack of goal, audio and animation. I must work harder to fit them in, if I am to enter a compo again.

Custard Games says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:52am

Hey, thanks for trying my game. Sorry about the performance issues. I removed all the particle effects, water effects, clouds etc on the low quality version to get it working on more computers. I was hoping you might be willing to try it again? Thanks!

Lucariatias says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Itneeds some form of music and sound effects. The mechanic is original, but somehow makes me feel bad abaout myself every time I kill. There's no limiting factor, it seems I can't die and there's no time limit either.
The seal AI is fantastic - some more "enemies", environments, and some sounds would have made this.

hbocao says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:05pm

I love the "particles" when I hit the ice and the bubbles while underwater. Simple game and kinda fun. Good job.

JonathanG says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Good concept but unfortunately incomplete as a game. Chasing and grabbing the seals in satisfying, but there really should be some sort of time pressure or progression to add longevity. Leaping to grab seals on the ice flows is cool, as is being able to smash the ice. After a while I can't find any more seals - I guess they've probably swam to the bottom somewhere but there's no indicator as to which direction to go, leaving you swimming around with nothing happening.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]