Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fishing On The Ice

by DonovanWu - Jam Entry

I worked totally on my own and was intended to join the compo. But I failed the challenge to complete it in 48 hours...
Sound is all generated by bxfr.
Library used: Flixel

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness99%
#132Humor(Jam)3.28
#142Theme(Jam)3.63
#332Mood(Jam)3.12
#370Innovation(Jam)3.02
#433Graphics(Jam)3.23
#438Fun(Jam)2.89
#469Overall(Jam)3.05
#566Audio(Jam)2.43

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Good game, but the intro was too long, I'd like to skip the speaks at the beggining

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:42am

Nice graphics. My only suggestion would be to stick to sans serif fonts. The small serif font is hard to see the small gameplay box.

spotco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:29am

Should have had less/skippable text!

DonovanWu says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Thanks for the suggestions! I'll probably work on improving the game after finishing my midterm exams this week.

Lukbebalduke says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:50am

Ok... the guy got stuck in the boundary. And intro is too long, I think the game should have more songs. But Nice graphics ! :D

elefantopia says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:01am

Cute game! Smart controls for fishing. The intro I saw was 3 speech bubbles, which didn't seem long... Good job!

Charimation says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:03am

Fun little game :) The submarines made me laugh a little xD
But yeah, solid controls, good gameplay, nice work ^^

dector says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:59am

BTW your bubbles are better that mine :)

Vandash says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Good effort! I'd love to be able to do something when catching a torpedo on my line - all I could do was bring it up, which blew me up, but perhaps I was missing something

Sodaware says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:02am

There's a couple of places that could use some polish (the tiny font and making the intro skippable), but it didn't detract from the actual game. I really liked the graphics and animation, and they gave the game a nice cartoony style.

It might have been nice to be able to move the lure left and right, or at least have the guy run a little faster. Sometimes I would try and be smart and catch a fish that just appeared at the other side of the screen, but I was too slow to get there in time. Or maybe I just suck at it :)

DonovanWu says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:06am

I've update the font and make intro skippable. Hope you have fun!

noom says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:14am

Nice work, I thought the sub battle was pretty funny. I did get a little frustrated by the number of fish (not enough) and the number of missiles that hit the ice (too many). I thought the graphics were very neat though and this was a good entry.

capnramses says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:19am

really nice! i like the animations and art for the main character - his little jackhammer is great! the subs and screen shake were a very nice touch

rojo says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:21am

I chuckled when I fished up a missile, and I didn't pay attention to the screenshot before playing so the subs were a surprise. I think the simplest improvement for the game would have been some background music. Gameplaywise, it would have been cool to see some traditional fishing mechanics like having the fish fight the line / line snapping. Overall good job, though!

javierecf says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:47am

This game is bananas, really good humor and mood. Maybe the fishing controls need more gameplay, maybe the fish can pull the string down with a little bit of force. Overall a fine entry.

camlang says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Good game, interesting gamplay

Wir says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Walked to the end of the Screen on the right side and couldn't move anywhere then except from drilling down. You should fix that :/

DonovanWu says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Wow, that's an embarrassingly stupid bug... Thanks for reporting it! I've fixed it.

poxpoxpox says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Like the how the character looks after he catches a bomb :)

kibertoad says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Add nukes, megalodons, sexy mermaids, killer dolphins and cthulhu. I'd buy that for a dollar.
Seriously, I totally would.

ethankennerly says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:57am

When I dropped a line and caught a fish, I felt achievement. If you continue to develop this, when I saw the submarines, I felt confused.

Chaoseed says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 2:26pm

My basic reaction to the game is "Haha, what?". I enjoyed it. ;) I especially liked the graphics, especially the guy walking. However, the gameplay was a little simplistic for my taste.

kevinAlbs says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:49am

Cute game, I definitely liked the submarines firing missiles at me. It made no sense, which is why I liked it haha.

May 8, 2014 @ 5:39am

It's funny the submarines.

foodzilla says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:55am

Really cute game.

Tomski says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:04pm

nice little game!

dosER_42 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:15pm

nice game. catching rocket was fun.

pjchardt says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:39am

Love the drilling sound, animation and mechanic :) I kept trying to catch a rocket and have it explode on a submarine, but it never worked...

pichifino says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Like it

Moosefly says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Nice graphics and simple, but captivating gameplay! Some ambient background music would've done wonders to this game.

Anssi (King of Fishers)@MooseflyGames

JoshOS says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:50pm

I didn't expect those submarines under the water haha.

Nice game, it would be nice if it had music.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:34am

Haha I laughed when I first saw the submarines (I didn't look at your screenshots before playing :P). Good job, it was fun!

Myyyvothrr says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Nice idea and I like the graphics, but I found it too boring.

May 15, 2014 @ 2:55am

This was a really fun game.
~funkeh

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]