Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space flappy shrimp bubble ninja blob 2048 X-Alpha Turbo Edition

by elpaulo - Jam Entry

2048 AD. The universe surface has been annihilated by some monstrous space flappy bubbles from outer space.
From beneath the surface, our only hope, Ninja Blobby, master of the Shrimp Vo Dao, sets out to right the wrong, IN STYLE!
See him flailing his arms like CRAZAY, and launch his f****ing holy shrimps.
Now you must defeat all the flappy bubbles to save the UNITED SHRIMPS OF AMERICA !

Try to obtain 75 points !

Written in javascript / JQuery / Phaser.io
Music made with Reaper and some free VST's

Created by

Paul Fournier :
Blog : http://papelou.fr
Soundcloud : https://soundcloud.com/papelou

Olivier Augereau :
Homepage : http://www.olivier-augereau.com
Soundcloud : https://soundcloud.com/olivier-music

Matthieu Verley :
Homepage : http://www.mattverley.com.

Many thanks to Motion Twin (http://motion-twin.fr) and Jean-Baptiste Henry for their support !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#133Fun(Jam)3.45
#149Humor(Jam)3.20
#322Audio(Jam)3.17
#393Graphics(Jam)3.34
#398Mood(Jam)3.00
#418Overall(Jam)3.13
#668Theme(Jam)2.38
#697Innovation(Jam)2.21

Comments

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:49pm

I liked the frenetic energy of this. Reminded me of Super Meat Boy blisters

GreatBigJerk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:53pm

I just get a black screen in Chrome on Windows. No container for the game appears at all in Firefox.

NikinCZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Fun, but nothing new.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Cool animations and solid gameplay. Was fun playing!

elpaulo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:59pm

@GreatBigJerk : Do you have a javascript error in the developer console ?

ezombort says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Worked in Chrome Windows for me but had to wait ~10 sec before the game loaded. Fun little game, especially after 75+ :)

thx4nothing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:30pm

The play should only be able to shoot if he clicks the mouse not holding it down. That would make it a bit harder. I enjoyed it.

elpaulo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:30pm

@ezombort : Yeah, the music is a bit long to load.

Celt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:32pm

after a few tries i got 231points and ultra ray by sitting just in the lower left corner :)

Huder says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:49pm

I experienced some 0.5ms game latency when bloobies spawns.
And i stuck in underground :(
here is screen http://i.imgur.com/3EksKxo.png

StrykerKKD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Little too easy with this kind shooting speed.

teambrookvale says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:37am

Fun game! Loved the soundtrack

kasarun says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:25pm

What the hell, firing shrimps? :) Like the concept, but the game is damned hard.

lyla says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:01am

The bubbles dying reminds me of popping bubble wrap. What a satisfying sound...I wish there were a couple more powerups or things to keep me playing longer. That said, it was a fun, quick play.

DanEEStar says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Great background story.
Fun little game. But there should be a bit more time between the restarts after you die.

eldog says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Bit hard to play with my touch pad and arrow keys, maybe include wasd option as well for people using laptops.

But I did have fun! Was nice and frantic.

garygreen says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:30pm

That was crazy fun. Super crevette spray! :-)

psychonull says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 1:20am

the super crevette was great

deepnight says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 8:09am

Very good entry, especially knowing that it's your first game :)
The game was really fun but the way the enemy spawns are a little unforgiving. It would be nice to slow them down for 1-2 seconds when the spawn, then accelerate to their normal speed.

Good job!

end3r says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 1:30pm

A lot of fun playing, good job!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]