Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Relica

by Kino333 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Welcome to Relica, a world seen through the eyes of a small slime creature.

Once upon a time, this slime couldn't do much of anything. He didn't need to either. And then he stumbled upon a relic, and after absorbing it into himself, he discovered he could change how gravity affected his body.

Have you ever wondered what its like to fly? To soar through the sky and discover what it means to be free?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#199Innovation3.61
#269Fun3.39
#339Audio3.11
#483Mood3.06
#508Overall3.22
#600Graphics3.11
#746Theme3.04
#1314Coolness49%

Comments

ZQMony says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:23am

Very addicting.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:16am

I'd like arrow keys controls in addition to wasd, other than that pretty fun.

Almost says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:48am

I'm not a fan of one hit deaths, but the game is ok I guess. I couldn't tell what the green stuff did, since it didn't seem to kill me.

Kino333 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:57am

The green stuff was supposed to kill you. X3 Basically it made you stuck and stuck to the ooze. THere were a few clipping issues in spots that I am aware of, but if you press R after hitting the green you'd restart. :3

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Your level design is quite good! The difficulty ramps up just right for me.

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Interesting mechanic, well done!

EmberKirk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Very nice. Would be fun to speed run!

local minimum says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:21pm

The image got me thinking I was going to slime my way along the walls and be that green thing. So it was a bit confusing to start. Would really have enjoyed starting out as a simple slime mold, sliming along walls until finding the relic and then breaking free with control over gravity.

The gravity controlling was fun though.

I had some issues getting stuck along walls. First being able to slide past one block then sticking on next. Same thing but different effect when it was a slime-side. Being able to pass safely by first tile but death on second. It would have been nicer if the collision was on exact squares instead.

Got to second or third level where there was one room I just died 3-4 times due to collisions described above and then gave up. But the playing was nice up until that.

Still think it should start before gaining control over gravity sliming along walls.

Also the first help text, or what it was, was outside screen when starting and disappeared before I got to it.

Kino333 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:03am

@Local Minimum: Oh man. I didn't even think of the screenshot winding up being misleading D: I'm sorry that it wound up being like that!

THe clipping issues are things I'm aware of, and I will be going and remaking a lot of the walls and hazards so that the clipping doesn't happen anymore.

I do like your idea of sliming along the walls, and I'm going to jot that down as something to figure out how to do as well. Thanks for the feed back!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:29pm

I love the concept of this :D
The wall clipping is kind of bad, especially in the first level. In the later levels it doesn't matter that much though. The music's just lovely! As is the difficulty level and the level design :) there's a bit of backtracking if you choose poorly at the early crossroads, but it's not that bad. This is a great, fun little game! :)

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:50am

Nicee, great music and pacing! My only criticism is the rectangular hitbox on the slime making it so you couldn't slide along the walls, but it's a lot of fun to play!

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:41am

The clipping issues and the lag made it less fun than it could have been, but it was still engaging enough for me to play through to the end. I like the control mechanic, and it definitely felt good to slide right between the hazards and grab the (what the hell were those things, anyway?). The level design was good too, a nice difficulty curve and easy ways to figure out what could kill you without having to be far into a level.

InfectionTeam says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:33am

Those damn water droplets, always killing me XD good game, took me a while to beat

Garris says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:17am

Cool concept, messing with gravity. It's surprisingly challenging for how simple it seems.

NicoM says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:13am

Fun game:), Nice mechanic, and great level design. your art was nice too, but it was blurred a bit in both chrome and firefox, not crisply scaled, I also noticed there are walls with slight ridges which allow you to stick on them (was it not actually tile based?) anyway great job:)

May 1, 2014 @ 12:45pm

I enjoyed the game. Brilliant idea where the player can only control the gravity and not the player. Good job.

bentog says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Great mechanics, but the graphics were bad mostly because of the interpolation. If it were just pixelated it'd be great. The slime could have some kind of idle animation so it doesn't look dead like a rock. The music was good, but it just stopped and the game became quiet. But still, the gameplay was very interesting.

gabbsson says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:46am

Interesting game! :)

Crowbeak says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:23am

I'm not skilled enough to get through the windy corridor lined with sticky slime on the third (I think) level. Neat idea, though. Oh, I got hung up on walls in places, but it wasn't usually deadly.

Eniko says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Good background music, and a pretty complete entry so great for a first LD game! :D Gotta admit the controls could be a bit frustrating though. Also not sure what the things I was picking up were, or the portals. >_>

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]