Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Xen'Juru Adventure

by micdoodle8 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Your alien overlord has sent you to retrieve a precious stolen artifact on the planet Xen'Juru. Fight hordes of enemies in randomly generated caves with multiple different game mechanics.

=====================================================

A, LEFT - Move Left
S, DOWN - Move Down
W, UP, SPACE - Jump / Move Up
D, RIGHT - Move Right

Right-click to fire laser
Left-click to enable shield (after being unlocked)

=====================================================

Update: Fixed library packing and added natives for all operating systems.

Update 2: Fixed support for different keyboard configurations.

Update 3: Fixed support for different monitor setups.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#305Fun3.35
#388Overall3.34
#399Theme3.44
#483Mood3.06
#651Audio2.59
#674Innovation2.90
#679Humor2.27
#693Graphics2.95

Comments

Hayawi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:28am

Really cool game, I loved how in later levels, it becomes very bullet-hell-esque, which was pretty cool to play. My only complaint is that the gun is sort of awkward to fire, but once you're used to it, it gets really fun really fast, good job :D

micdoodle8 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:55am

Thanks! I appreciate the feedback, it's tough to tell how difficult a game is to learn when you've been testing it out for several hours.

JavadocMD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:16am

This game has a surprising amount of strategic depth for something so simple! The shield and jetpack are great mechanics to play with and I liked the player's laser gun which sort of rejects the standard. Very nicely done!

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:09am

Nice!

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:16am

WASD only, and widescreen only? ;_; Well, at least it runs on Win32. But still not something I can play, even if I wanted to.

JaR_ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:22am

Really cool mix of dynamics - loved the weightlessness.

Flam says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:32am

Can't run the game on Mac. Stacktrace: http://pastebin.com/AwCdq5Za

HunLyxxod says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:32am

This is a great game. It's maybe a little slow in the first levels but it's not a problem anymore when you have dozen of bullets and turrets to avoid in the last level.

As a side note, if you go to the left or the right in the first screen, you fall in the void and skip the first level.

Thinkofdeath says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:39am

Pretty fun game, would of been nice to know right click was fire before jumping in the pit of enemies :)

micdoodle8 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:45am

@GlowingSnail Fixed support for directional keys instead of WASD (I would consider this a compatibility bug)

@Flam Should be fixed in the latest bug fix as well.

Majsmanne says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:59am

Nice game! I'm not a fan of the floaty jumping, but that was fixed nicely with the jetpack.

lief says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:13am

Nice, reminded me of Elite and some of the games from when I was young. I'll keep this to play some more.

bzizizi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:03am

This is the first game I finished on this compo. Had fun!

pandamicro says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Couldn't get through the first level, even I killed all enemies and reach the blue hole

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:27pm

It's like super messy graphics, feels real old school.
Good job creating that feeling!

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Nice Atari-2600-esque minimalistic style. Thought the main character was a bit slow but the jetpack in level 2 helped speed things up a bit :D

soy_yuma says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:54pm

LOOOL I fell on the wrong side of the cave!!
http://imgur.com/kyhLWM5

I'll restart and stop being a dick trying to break games...

Maek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Cool idea. Great Game. But please update the laser. :D

SenorDiablo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Chill game. Liked the art and shooting was really good fun

soy_yuma says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:04pm

I like it! But I don't know how to get past the green tiny portal. I've killed all those bloody XenJurians. Damn them!!

AngryPriest says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Cool game, but it ran very slowly on my laptop.

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Pretty fun to play! The responsiveness of the controls could use a little work though.

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:20am

Nice game, I really liked the concept and the controls were fine for me. My biggest concern, and really not that big, was just the music, there was a segment in there that was just "dum dee dum dee dum dee dum dee" and it sounded like it was broken or something, before it would pick up again, just kinda jarring when i would be aware of that.

gene-z says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:21am

Very cool,, love the pixeled art

Cambrian_Man says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:21am

The weird floaty low-gravity gameplay is surprisingly addictive. The graphics work well to set the mood, too. I did get stuck after finding a space melon or something. Pretty cool.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:22am

Very nice! Once I figured out that you can shoot back, it was really fun. It would be nice to have some visual indication of the laser recharging.

micdoodle8 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:23am

Thanks for all the feedback guys. I don't know if I'm allowed to fix the issue where people are getting stuck on levels. Not a crash or a typo :S

HBurd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:23am

Excellent game, good music too

micdoodle8 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:25am

Thanks!

hyouko says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:29am

Really opens up once you get the jetpack. I'm not a huge fan of the music, but it does seem fitting for the underground world the game takes place in.

otato says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:29am

Nice job. Major complaint was that the controls felt really floaty. Would've been a little bit hard to deal with if your laser had the same limited range as all the enemies (thankfully it doesn't). Otherwise it was fairly solid!

IndieST says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:37am

The controls felt dull at first, but after I mastered them, the game plays like a special shmup and I'm having fun in it!

Solifuge says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:48am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

I really, really liked this entry. There's something very... turtle ballet about it. Just navigating on the planet surface gives you enough time to get used to the controls, being more humorous than boring... and the floaty jumping gave a really good sense of a low-gravity region this time. Short, sweet, and fun. Thanks for the experience : D

terraco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:52am

I am well entertained now. Good work,

daandruff says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:37am

It feels like everything goes in slowmo and it gets awkward after a bit of playing. Everything works just fine though and it's a solid entry. Nice job!

Wakka says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:53am

On OSX:

java -jar XenJuruAdventure/XenJuruAdventure-All.jar
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: com/micdoodle8/ld29/Game : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0

May 1, 2014 @ 7:54am

I dont know if its my computer but controls seem like really slow. But except from that I really like the gameplay, really addictive and the behaviour of the enemies is really well coded!

kristof says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:56am

Nice game. The controls felt a bit awkward on a laptop. But I will try again with a real mouse. Good work!

Xeke_Death says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:59am

Great work, I liked the item progression over the levels.

KuGrou says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:46am

Cool idea. Movement and combat felt a bit slow, but the jetpack improved that a little.

Gazok says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Really ugly title-screen. Just having the name on the first level would have been nicer. Felt a bit like Thomas was Alone meets Risk of Rain. I feel the large level sizes would work really well with a Worms-style ninja-rope mechanic.

Restarting the whole game when I died stopped me from playing on.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 3:15am

got really hard after the first level - solid game - nice job

JoshRespawns says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Good Game and thanks for the comment on my game!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]