Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Nano-Hero

by CommanderJ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a nano-pilot, sent into the dangers of the human body. Take out unfriendly blood-cells and enemy nano-bots.

Uses ASWD or arrow keys to steer and spacebar to shoot.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#207Humor3.10
#484Audio2.88
#746Theme3.04
#991Fun2.48
#1014Graphics2.46
#1069Overall2.62
#1149Mood2.11
#1175Innovation2.08
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

urisensei says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:28am

The shooting sounds were pretty funny, I'd love to have other levels taking you through the body. Good job

ahnt says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:24am

The best part about this game are the sounds! Great idea for sfx. Good solid start on a side scrolling shooter.

mechabit says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:31am

Change the web link to say download or host it somewhere you can play it in a browser. Maybe Kongregate.

May 17, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Can you actually win at this game ? I played until i had a score of 1000 then let my thumb breathe :)

May 17, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Very nice entry. The sound effects are funny.

May 17, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Bug: Score doesn't reset at death.

Good job finishing, but not a very original concept. Great sound effects thouggh ;)

Benjamin says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 9:09pm

I was thinking that hiding score at gameover was not good idea because I could not remember my score. But it was still there on next game so... :) I like the little body map.

CommanderJ says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Thanks, I had hoped to add some navigation to different organs, but didn't get to it during the competition.

kristof says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Cool intro animation! The gameplay itself could use some variations, like different weapons. Also, especially the bullets of the enemy, feel a bit unfair. Still, good work!

mark.goetz says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 2:14am

I like how you came up with the sound effects! I felt like there needed to be more variety in danger in the gameplay, and the visuals could've used some polish. Congrats on completing your first LD game!

May 19, 2014 @ 5:33am

welcome to the ld, good first entry.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]