Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

TIT for TAT

by vicious_br - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Game like tower defence. Left buttom mouse to play. Hf!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#123Audio3.57
#177Graphics3.83
#221Overall3.56
#225Mood3.45
#340Fun3.29
#550Humor2.44
#577Innovation3.04
#1042Theme2.50

Comments

TheMorfeus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Lags like hell, but looks cool!

Cezel_ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:33pm

It was really fun, sadly it started to lag after like 10 minutes of playing. Incredibly nice graphics and music aswell.
Good job!

NikinCZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Lot of fun, played twice, looks nice, like old monitor, good music and sounds for retro-game.

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Great game. Very much enjoyed the mechanics and style. Thanks for making!

vicious_br says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:45pm

The morfeus, Cezel, NikinCZ and Conormn, thank you very much for your feedback.

vicious_br says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Morfeus and Cezel, Ill try to fix the lag. Thk u!

vicious_br says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Difficulty decreased

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:37am

Looks really nice, and is an interesting take on the 'cookie clicker' type games. Would have prefered he had less health, and there were more levels/variety, but really cool idea for 48 hours. I could see this being a hit if there was some more content!

galeswift says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:33am

Really well done, simple to play but addicting :)

Danman9914 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:35am

Cool resource management system!

praporomsk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:40am

awesome! one of the must play games at this LD!

Milktoast says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:41am

Hypnotic. Pure awesomeness.

vicious_br says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:59am

I had less than 24 hours to do it. In this edition of Ludum Dare, I had many setbacks. Is to improve next DarkMeat

teambrookvale says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:32am

Looks really really nice!

maxhaesslein says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:39am

Could have been harder but it was fun to play! I really enjoyed the explosion of the alien-thing

biscuitdough says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:40am

Cool game! the pace was a little slow, but liked the concept, really minimalist resource management game.

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:49am

Love the graphics and audio! And the whole game really. Don't really see the point of two towers if the enemies spawned are the same? And was far too easy. But overall freaking awesome!

hanoth says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:55am

I like the look of this one. Very cool.

vicious_br says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Thank you for all of you to play my game, comment and commend.

javifugitivo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:16pm

The audio is powerfull! Nice ambience!

Neonlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Pretty darn easy but damn the visuals really helped this along! Audio was a little bit loud but other than that an interesting take on tower defense.

tehryanx says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:47pm

This was fun. Not super challenging, but a neat little distraction from work. I'd play this on my phone or something for sure.

May 3, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Liked the graphics and that you spent so much effort to explain the game with a tutorial. Didn't like the gameplay too much, was rather boring. Some juicyness would have helped - larger buttons, sounds (!) and maybe some more effects.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:19pm

The concept has potential, but the gameplay is sloppy and not challenging.

There is one surefire way to beat the game with minimal input.
Increase the fire rate of both of your towers to the max and collect money until your armour is nearly gone.
Then just spam the everliving crap out of the alien mother ship.

Why is this so? Let's have a look.

-The tower upgrades aren't well designed or balanced.
The most potent upgrade, that being fire rate, is also the cheapest!
Power is a nice bonus, but as it's quite expensive there is no reason to take it over fire rate.
Range on the other hand is completely useless as the weapons already fire far enough.
Accuracy would have been a better fit for that slot as the turrets seem to miss a lot.

-The economy is borked!
The shooting cost increases to a cap of 200, but the upgrade costs don't.
Especially fire rate should have a cost increase or other limitations.

-Too few gameplay decisions.
The only input turrets need is upgrading and as revealed before there really isn't any meaningful choices in it.
Shooting down enemy projectiles is only required if your armour is down and at that point
you have enough money to defeat the alien anyways so there is no decisions there either.


Those things said. Here are some possible venues of development:

-More in depth turret management as in many tower defence games.
The ability to build and repair the towers and turrets myself alongside upgrading them would go a long way in ensuring tactile gameplay.
This also mitigates the cascading failure effect caused by losing too many turrets on one tower allowing the enemy swarm to completely overtake it.

-More active abilities.
For instance shields and different bullet types and patterns.
The powerful single shot weapon is fine on taking down the mother ship,
but other offensive abilities would allow sending smaller enemies against the player base as well.

-No health bar only the eye, or vice versa.
Currently the health bar is quite unnecessary because completely losing a tower is basically a gameover as you profit is effectively halved.
I would argue getting rid of the eye instead.
This would allow for the whole ground to be filled with towers and remove the need for specific enemy lanes.
The alien could also attack other targets and send enemies in every direction.

Other possibilities include:
-Only the eye no hp bar. Defend and build around it.
-The alien only sends enemies or only attacks with projectiles.
-Different victory states altogether. Time limit, kill count, money amount, you name it.

vicious_br says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:44am

HuvaaKoodia, thanks for the tips. It was a great review of the my game. As I am beginner to make games (and especially in jam's) your analysis is thorough, honest and very constructive. I thank you again because I think these feedback are very important for my growth as a game designer.

joe40001 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:58pm

I liked it a lot, good balance of gameplay, once you figure it out it isn't too hard, and you are rewarded for finishing sooner than later. But still fun. The feedback the other guy gave you is accurate but I'd been a little less harsh than him, you did well. Not perfect, but it is quite a good start.

mark.goetz says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 4:24am

I like the graphics and the audio design adds a lot! I wish there was a bit more to do while waiting for your main weapon to charge, though. But nice job getting in the tower defense mechanics!

nicotr014 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 6:04am

I love the graphics

Pitoum says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 8:08am

Pretty cool even if I spent a lot at shooting first ^^

ripatti says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 10:42am

Good game, finished on the 3rd try. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]