Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Roots

by Dutchess Games - Jam Entry

'Roots' is a game in which you play Yggdrasil. Yggdrasil is a God of life in this game. As he observes humanity he feels like they are becoming too detached from nature. He decides to connect humans to nature once again, by absorbing humanity into himself, and becoming the large tree of life he once used to be. Defeat humanity and take over the world.

As you can see, the game isn't finished and the gameplay is not exactly how it was supposed to be, this game isn't quite finished yet, but we think we will finish it some day. Also please note that the trigger for the ending scene hasn't been implemented yet, sorry about that.

EDIT: We now have an updated version with an ending screen: http://student-kmt.hku.nl/~mathijs/LD29/postJam.html

- Mathijs, Masha and Jaden

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#232Graphics(Jam)3.73
#273Humor(Jam)2.81
#445Audio(Jam)2.89
#553Innovation(Jam)2.62
#601Mood(Jam)2.63
#649Fun(Jam)2.34
#672Overall(Jam)2.57
#710Theme(Jam)2.17

Comments

conormn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:23am

Ha, that was unexpected :)
The character design looked really nice. Good job.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:39am

Thank you :D

teambrookvale says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:33am

Nice graphics!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:41am

The character looks amazing!
I don't really know what the goal of the game is though :P
Some info would have been nice...
Also, according to the rules, you are allowed to fix bugs with the win condition, if it's not properly activating :)

mathijs750 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Programmer of the game here, In this build of the game the win condition is missing. (I got sick during the jam, so many features are missing) You were supposed to win if you got to a certain height, and than you would see a screen with your character crushing the earth. Assume you win if the character goes out of frame.

Wertle says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:27am

I'm assuming I won when I got so big I filled up the whole screen :D I often accidentally moused off the unity window which caused woes.

mrbungle says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:30pm

W.T.F. This was very trippy! Cool graphics.

CaiusTSM says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:47am

lol, you have some nice art!

noom says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:26am

Very cool concept, your artwork was really nice, Yggdrasil in particular. Would love to see this all finished up with a bit of spit n' shine on it ;)

praporomsk says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 8:54am

Lol

DavidErosa says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:39pm

I kept growing and I'm sure I became the taller tree out there :) A pity you couldn't make the ending into the jam version.

GrooveMan says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:04pm

The character design was neat, and more diverse than I was expecting! The layering of Ygg was a bit off, so his arm ended up clipping through his knees a lot. An amusing microgame!

BadPaul34 says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 11:00am

The concept and the character are great! Like the growing tree and the mood, really feel in a crowded city ;)

Harsay says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Very nice concept but gameplay needs more love.

CeriseGhost says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Highest ranks fro humour :D Well done!

Raiyumi says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 6:13pm

This was really interesting, and it got that weird vibe with the mix of the music and graphics. I really liked this one. :)

May 17, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Awesome graphics!

It was really short though. Took me 20 seconds to takeover the world :)

Delca says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 8:19pm

A nice little game, although it was very short. Would love to see how a more fleshed-out version would look like!

kristof says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 9:31pm

I really like the art style. Gameplay is a bit lacking though. Nice start.

Aske says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 10:33pm

I got a really weird bug with the title screen in a infinite loop.

SimianLogic says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Yggdrsil looks very slick--the rig needs some z-sorting love, though (I kept putting my hand behind my thigh piece). Definitely needs some more challenge... right now you can just point down and keep grabbing. Fun idea, though--good start!

CommanderJ says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 11:45pm

surprising, and fun. Loved the art. Didn't seem very challenging, but trying to beat your time in the fixed one was interesting.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]