Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the surface

by siondream - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Beneath the surface is a traditional text adventure.
It accepts commands in the form "verb object".
Example: "take key".

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2090Coolness14%

Comments

smbe19 says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:21pm

The game crashes at startup...
http://pastebin.com/g4AtLwve

siondream says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:33am

Thanks for reporting, can you try it again? It was a shader issue. It might be to do with the graphics card... It works fine on mine but I think I fixed it.

mariscal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Love the style and music! Got stuck with that light coming from the break... I thought I could use it to distract the wolf.. but nope... we want a hint button! :D

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Got stuck at the same part as mariscal.
It was so earlier in the game the mood couldn't really build up.

The cave was described rather well, I had immediately a picture of it in my head. The concept of the game is well known and as far as I played there isn't anything new to it. The theme is included but not in a special way.

All in all it may have great potential, but it really needs a mechanic to prevent getting stuck (e.g. show all available verbs).

spartangeek says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:30pm

nice style and music but I got stuck for too long as well :(

GreatBigJerk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:30pm

I do like me some text adventures, but I couldn't figure out what to do in the second area. It would be good to have more descriptive feedback on what you're doing or doing wrong.

mjau says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Couldn't figure out what to do in the second room. It doesn't help that the parser doesn't distinguish between words it doesn't understand and things you can't do, and it's pretty strict in what words it accepts in each situation..

examine door - you cannot do that!
look at door - you cannot do that!
look door - (description of door)
look rock - you cannot do that!
push rock - (pushes rock)

So if i'd tried to "look rock" before "look door", how would i know that "look" was a real command, but used on an object that didn't support it? It makes it hard to learn the vocabulary of the game. Maybe i'm trying to do the right thing and just using the wrong words, or maybe i'm on the wrong track entirely and should try something else. Who knows?

I know, it's limited how smart you can make a language parser in a weekend. Just distinguishing between "not understood" and "understood but can't do that" would help, though.. Also, if you look up input words in a table of synonyms, that could also remove words like "at" if you don't need those. Little things like that help a lot.

Anyway, the presentation's neat. The typewriter effect, little touches like the sliding text at the start and the way the border pulses a little (you can imagine holding a candle in a cave).. sets the mood =). I like the music, too.

soy_yuma says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:34pm

It looks extremely promising, but I got stuck in the same place :-(

May 13, 2014 @ 6:02am

If you're stuck, try "enter break" and "exit room".

Also, there's a typo in the crate room, the command is "look create" where it should be "look crate".

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]