Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Spelunker Boxing

by NTR - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls:
A/D to move left and right
W/S to block high or low attacks
Space to punch

Menu:
WASD + Space

The goal is to punch the other guy off the ring.
The single player mode makes you fight 3 different CPUs, each harder than the last. The first to 3 points wins.

Created over 46 hours with Game Maker 8.

The only way this ties into the theme is the fact that the characters kind of look like the guy from Spelunker. It was the best I could do. Also, don't try turbo mode if you have a faint heart.

This was my first LD, so there was a lot I didn't get to accomplish with this. My original idea was something like a turn-based fighting game with cards, but it quickly spiraled downwards from there.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#27Fun4.00
#48Humor3.79
#116Overall3.76
#137Graphics3.92
#236Mood3.44
#243Audio3.28
#505Innovation3.13
#1234Theme1.84

Comments

tschery says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:50pm

pure awesomeness =D though I dont quite get how this is connected to the theme

Clinthoney says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:57am

As tscherry said its not really based on the theme. But overall love the classic feeling of the game.

Thein says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:00am

Really fun. Awesome graphics! The theme is barely there, but it's still a great game.

Ratchetmon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:32am

This game is really fun.

alvarop says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:34am

Loved this game. I guess it's connected to the theme because it takes place underground and the characters are spelunkers?

This is like a boxing NIDHOGG.

Idkfawin32 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:51am

I loved how the crowd would vibrate when a punch occurred. Also, for some reason I really felt determined to beat ??? because he kept whooping me

Garris says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:52am

I am absolutely terrible at this game. I love it though. It's simple, but with just enough complexity and speed you keep your brain in panic mode. The graphics look a little MSPainty, but they're consistent and all the pieces go together well. Solid entry.

EpiphanyG says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:59am

I love this game!

The punches connect really nicely and I like the way you have to follow up by moving if you land a punch - makes it not just about tapping punch all the time.

Very loose connection to the theme but this takes underground boxing to another level. ;)

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:02am

I made you a trophy, this game oozes fantasm.

whalebot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:28am

Pretty fun game, although didn't really fit the theme. That being said, the computer is better at boxing than I am...

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:42am

I... can't believe I beat it. I think I broke my left arm. My hand's not working right. Good job. Good game.

hirngespinst says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:41pm

fun game - really liked it. Also not sure how this connects to beneath the surface.

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:55pm

I can't run this (now windows, so didn't rate it) buut... Spelunker Boxing is the best game name in the comp.

tschery says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:30pm

couldnt rate when I first commented so here goes my rating. It feels very polished especially the difficulty curve. Didnt quite manage to beat the green silouet guy =)

edibletoaster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:27am

Love this game. It's so good. Can't wait to play this local multiplayer

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:28pm

I liked the game, reminds me to nidhogg. The NPCs were hard, lucky for me i found some cheap strategies ^^

Great game!

samooJAM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:50pm

It's been a long while since last time I played any boxing game. This one was quite fun. A bit too much luck based gameplay but not bad. Good job!

spartangeek says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:21pm

cool game

Neonlare says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Pretty damn fun! Pretty awesome, didn't feel too close to the theme but it was enjoyable none the less, awesome :).

Sparrow says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Really enjoyed this. Very good boxing game.
Green ?? is really hard, I need to bring that sucka down!

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:21am

This is really very cool. The ai seems a bit cheap, although I think it would be great in multi. Good job! I think you're right though, it's not especially theme-appropriate.

Great job!

Mekuri says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:56am

Funny game, although the last fight especially was more button smashing than playing :P - Not really related to the theme, but a decent game nonetheless.

berareu says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:36pm

It was amazing! Managed to finish the singleplayer and I even played a versus match with my girlfriend...we had a LOT of fun! Probably the most fun out of all the other entries I've played till now! Fantastic work!

gabbsson says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Loved it, who cares about the theme when the game is this awesome!

ChuiGum says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:22am

Very very fun, love it! I really like the defense mechanic too!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:48am

fun game - good job

ThingoStudios says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 7:01pm

I felt like there was less depth to the game than I thought there would be. Still enjoyable multiplayer.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]