Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

TunnelGunner

by AngryPriest - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hold Spacebar to accelerate towards the cursor
Hold rmb to aim
press lmb to fire

Press G at any time to restart the game

Any other important controls will be indicated to you as you play :-)


Gameplay notes:
You can only shoot when you are above ground,
If you get hurt, you can heal by hanging out in your base


Installation:

The download is a single zip file with the source code and executable inside.

The executable has no dependencies (afaik) so there should be no trouble running it. If you have problems, please post them as a comment and I'll try correct them and make it easier for other users.

Update:

Enough people highlighted the issue of aiming not working properly if you clicked right mouse before jumping out of the earth that I felt it warranted patching post compo.
Now you will start to aim whenever you are above ground and are holding RMB, no matter when you pressed it initially

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#348Humor2.77
#364Theme3.47
#375Innovation3.33
#540Fun3.03
#594Overall3.15
#734Audio2.41
#925Graphics2.59
#1010Mood2.44

Comments

Covenant says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Cool concept, hard tought, specially the shooting part... too bad it didn't work fullscreen (some of the text was out of the window as well). Good job!

Dominator_101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Decent concept. I had like -2000 points, though, so I'm clearly not very good at it :p

tomvert says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Nice idea :)

DevWouter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Quite well done. I enjoyed the tunnels and the fact that you could launch yourself out of the sand..

Gameplay wise there are some balancing issue. Also the text placement could some work.

NukeTheBunnys says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Seems to have too many controls, why should i just

fueelin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Cool idea. A few noticeable bugs/issues but very fun if you ignore those. Biggest complaint is that it doesn't seem like you can shoot when you're in the air if you started holding right click while underground; makes it feel unresponsive. The tunneling/shooting mechanics feel really good overall though - definitely the best part!

fueelin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Oh, also - totally love the 'angry shooting face'.

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:25am

Excellent game mechanics. Flowing swiftly into the earth to grab gems, then jumping into the air, deploying guns and blazing some dudes, before diving again in the depth. Feels good, and is quite original. The graphics are of the MS-Paint style, but it's LD48, and anyway they do the job.

I kinda wish we didn't have to use the two mouse buttons to fire, especially since it won't work if right key is held before breaking the surface. Also, maybe some animation when we die? My TunnelGunner just stops moving after a while, and I can only guess that it's due to a lack of health.

AngryPriest says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:19am

Thanks for the comments guys. Yeah I totally agree with you on the mouse buttons to fire business. Having to wait till you're overground to press right mouse button is a total bummer and is a bug.
I'm glad you like it though, and really appreciate the feedback. I'll definitely revisit it and try fix it up after the competition

jujule says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:45pm

It took a little while to get used to but I did enjoy it. A nice effort for an original idea. Good job! You should pursue.

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:33am

This is a nice take on these kind of game with the base. I really like it.

Dr_V says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:35am

Just the gameplay of launching yourself out of the ground and shooting at things was fun by itself.

DavidErosa says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Nice game. I enjoyed crushing and shooting at those little gem-thiefs :)

Myyyvothrr says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:49pm

I liked the shooting/collecting combination, good work!

Sanguine says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 2:39pm

The controls were a bit confusing at first, but after a while I understood them. I'm not sure why there's a button for aiming when there's also a button for shooting. Next to that I really liked the concept!

Gaeel says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 3:14pm

The mechanics are great, it feels really fun to be this insanely overpowered tunnelling gigabot with a machine gun.
It's a little hard to score points, and for some reason the game doesn't end when I die though...

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]