Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Pizza Delivery LD29

by dusho - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Pizza Delivery Beneath The Surface

My first Ludum Dare entry. Actually my first 2D only game.
Unity3D
Paint.NET (mighty mouse drawing)

Controls:
Left mouse button for ignition
Mouse movement for steering

Goal:
Deliver pizzas to hungry miners by landing on ports inside the mine. Avoid rocks and dirt, watch your fuel.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#271Humor2.94
#364Theme3.47
#423Innovation3.25
#489Fun3.09
#544Overall3.19
#941Mood2.55
#978Audio1.75
#1005Graphics2.49

Comments

Kragnir says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:26pm

I think the idea with controlling a ship with precision is good enough so that you don't need to rely on making it harder to control for some of the missions. There are lots of things that could be added to make this more fun without resorting to that such as time attack mode, score and extra objectives.

AgeNt_ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Great fun! Good amount of challenge but its simple to get used too. Levels add variety each time.

quill18 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Great, intuitive gameplay.

I could see myself playing this on a tablet. On the john. And that's a good thing.

Holofire says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Pretty fun and challenging. Enjoyed it quite a lot.

orangepascal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Nice twist on the lunar lander idea :) Very original way to deliver pizza! :D

vigrid says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Fun lunar lander with a twist. I love the crude art style, and the controls - they feel really good!

Sparrow says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:33am

Very fun! At some points I flew very fast and at others it didn't have any life at all, could've used some indicators for it. A little sound would've made this even better!

lonewookie says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Great idea. I think it might be better if the ship was shaped differently? Maybe like a ufo shape? Overall, a solid game. Congrats on your first LD!

Nichii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Hey, I smell innovation :D

DustyStylus says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:44am

Great concept and fun to play! I like the art style as well. :D

icereci says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:23pm

loved the rocket physics. good job

4KbShort says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 3:24pm

"Yah! I'm a delivery boy!" The whole time... all I could think. Played until I got the rocket jammed twixt some rocks. Irony I suppose. A great job and a simple yet fun game!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]