Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Undermine: A lesson in Middle Management

by quantumpotato - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Clearer instructions:

Players take turns picking a level. You score points based on the levels you pick. If you pick a level 2 under the other player, they don't score and you take their points. If you pick level 1 you will always beat someone who picks level 6.

====

2 Players dig beneath the surface to subvert control of the super structure!

The deeper you go, the more you score.

Undermine a rival 2 levels above you to steal their point!

Control the structure from the top to prevent level 6 from scoring.

GL HF

((You could also play this with 2 dice.

For added subversion, cooperate with the second player and help them win - they'll never see it coming!))

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#766Innovation2.78
#1052Humor1.47
#1064Audio1.22
#1185Theme2.09
#1198Mood1.45
#1249Fun1.66
#1255Overall2.03
#1260Graphics1.44

Comments

torcado194 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:47pm

hm.. seems like an interesting concept, though i don't really understand how it works. good job though!

quantumpotato says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Sorry, maybe I should have made the text more clear. Players take turns picking a level. You score points based on the levels you pick. If you pick a level 2 under the other player, they don't score and you take their points. If you pick level 1 you will always beat someone who picks level 6.

otato says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:51pm

Interesting idea, but I feel like the player that if a player always chooses 6, as long as the other player chooses not 1 a few times, the 6 player will win...

Also had a bunch of the text cut off for me in the web player.

quantumpotato says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:58pm

@otato maybe there are too many levels. I was thinking about letting 1 score 6 points instead of 1. Thanks for the feedback!

microapple says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:01am

Not a bad idea, could have been explained better. The implementation was good though.

Eirikir says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:26am

overall a good idea, too bad its not well explained. i agree with otato about the players choosing the same numbers.

Cosrnos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:33am

It's an interesting idea!

ThingoStudios says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:32am

The core gameplay is interesting enough, but there's really no reason to pick number 1. You're preventing your opponent from scoring, but you're only scoring 1 point.

The game is pretty interesting. I thought this was going to be a Tower of Hanoi type game but it wasn't! It's cool.

burgerdare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:43pm

neat idea. I assume that players aren't supposed to see each other's moves until after both choices have been made?
This isn't extremely clearly communicated, but it made sense to me and made for a fairly intriguing bluffing game.

quantumpotato says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 1:30am

@burgerdare right! that's why you move your mouse below the tower between turns - so the other player can't see what you chose.

@ThingoStudios totally. Scoring 1 is way too weak. I'm thinking it should score you 6 instead -- or maybe drop the layers down to 4 and 1 beats 4 for 4 points.

bucketh3ad says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 3:42am

I really like the idea, but the mechanic doesn't quite seem there yet, mostly because 5, and 6 appear to be the only sensible choices. Since choosing 5 guarantees a gain of either 3 or 5 with no way to undermine, and 6 can only be undermined with 1, sticking with either or switching between those two randomly beats dice rolls the majority of games.

Assuming your opponent plays randomly, choosing 1 or 2 averages a loss of -3/2(-1.5), 3 averages -5/6(-0.88), 4 averages +1, 5 averages +5/3(+1.66), and 6 averages +11/6(+1.83)

If you want there to be more depth of strategy, you need to rethink the mechanic some in order to make lower point plays potentially more valuable.

elefantopia says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 2:44am

Interesting idea...

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]