Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Teddy & His Cat

by ruthiepee - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Teddy's cat has run away! Can you help find him?
/////////////////////////////////////////////

A click-and-pick adventure game drawn, programmed, and animated entirely in Flash. It starts out friendly, but soon, Teddy finds himself in some odd circumstances...

Music generated at abundant-music.com. Special thanks to RVA Game Jams for hosting!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Humor4.57
#56Overall3.92
#63Graphics4.25
#90Audio3.67
#95Mood3.77
#281Fun3.38
#342Innovation3.38
#867Theme2.87
#1692Coolness40%

Comments

woodenrabbit says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:15am

Absolutely my favorite :D Especially the pig in glasses

hanoth says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:39pm

This is my favorite one yet!

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Adorable!

cirolve says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:26am

Haha, this is funny. That pig is hilarious. Great job!

laker says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:56am

OMG!:D So many funny and cute moments:D Really great animation. I don't know how did you manage to make something like this in 2 days, just wow. I like the humor, and I love the font style:D Could you please tell me what font it is?:D

But I didn't like the flow of the game, too much of a pointless clicking.

Overall, I enjoyed it immensely!

ruthiepee says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Thanks for the kind words and criticisms alike, everyone.

@laker: The font is "Amatic" by Vernon Adams. It's a free font. I agree that the flow could be better! I would've add more Easter egg animations and more obvious "hints" if I'd had time. There's almost no programming involved (just buttons in Flash and a few if statements) so I had the entire 48 hours to focus solely on art.

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Well done!

Sodaware says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:22am

Really great presentation, and love the humour! The dog at the start made me laugh, and then it all just got stranger and stranger. I enjoyed watching the story unfold, and certainly didn't predict any of it.

My only complaint is that I didn't get the wear the crown at the end.

Rose says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:25am

Very interesting and a nice break from all the plotless pixel-art entries. I agree that the font looked great. I also loved Teddy's little walk...

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:29am

I had some trouble figuring out what to do, but really impressive!

longshorts says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:33am

I almost died of laughter at the scene with the fire. Odd, but in a completely hilarious way!

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:45am

I can't stop laughing, that was just too funny. Well done!

elefantopia says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:38am

Charming graphics, the music complements the humorous writing. Great job!

omaha says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:57pm

this was really great. a little dark at times. the animations and characters are fantastic. the sound of the cat talking was delightful.

joe40001 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:03am

I really wish the ending had 2 options, and I think most people who get there will know what the other one is (and it's not a happy ending either)

I will say this game is quite funny, but what makes it by far the funniest LD29 game I've played is just one thing: That dainty little walk the kid has, without that the game might have gotten a 4/5 on humor from me, but with that I wish I could give it a 6/5. Such a dainty little walk lol.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]