Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Frog V Ducks

by maffydub - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Help the frog collect treasure by diving to the bottom. You can only dive as long as you have oxygen - stay above the surface or collect plants to replenish it. Avoid the ducks, or jump on them. The ornamental goldfish are ornamental.

Controls:
A - left
D - right
S - dive

Frog V Ducks uses WebGL, so you need a WebGL-capable browser. Chrome is recommended. Firefox should be OK. IE probably won't be - sorry!

All the code is at https://github.com/matt-williams/ld29/. I used the standard WebGL helper from https://code.google.com/p/webglsamples/source/browse/book/webgl-utils.js and the glMatrix library from http://glmatrix.net/. Everything else (including the game engine and the shoddy graphics) were created by me within the 48 hours.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#159Humor3.28
#276Graphics3.62
#365Innovation3.35
#376Theme3.46
#801Mood2.71
#873Fun2.65
#884Overall2.85
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

Gaeel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:27pm

That's some pro-level stuff on the voxel shader, man!

miwuc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Nice effects with the floating and disappearing text, and the background music is pretty cool. I's kind of hard to see what' going on though.

Sodaware says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Looks great! Love the little ducks and the water effects.

It's a little hard to figure out when to dive, but other than that it's good fun (although I'm not very good at it).

vilya says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:08pm

The controls are a bit fiddly & it needs some kind of visual or audible feedback to indicate when you've hit something good vs. something bad. Nice concept though!

I saw another comment about background music, but using Chrome on Windows 7 I'm not hearing any?

stoo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Interesting idea, controls feel a bit clunky, but otherwise well implemented. Good looking 3D!

garygreen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:11pm

I really liked the style of your graphics. I found the controls difficult to get to grips with though.

grayhaze says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Nice idea and the engine's good for two days work. The controls were a bit confusing and I found it almost impossible to work out where the frog would dive to.

Ismei says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:10pm

I liked the look of the game, but as ever found it difficult to know when to dive.

Brunodev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Nice effects! You're good!

Zerkruemler says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Nice Graphics style. But unfortunately too hard for me.
My Maximum score of several attemps was 1.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:46pm

nice one , really fun concept !
but didn't hear any sound using chrome

mariscal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Nice work! I couldn't hear anything with chrome though, and the camera was a little bit confusing. Liked the mechanic of diving!

Larzan says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:14am

Haha, nice idea with the ducks and the frog, it is the same setting as my game, just a diffirent view :)
I only got confused with how long the frog could dive, an 'airbar' or sth similar would be nice.

DustyStylus says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:42am

A little hard to control, but love the graphics. No sound in Chrome, sadly. :(

SimianLogic says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 3:40am

Very interesting technically, but super frustrating to play. I *think* my goal was to get treasure chests, which I was ok at, but the weird bouncing on top of water and rough controls made it super hard.

SnoringFrog says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 2:27am

It looked really cool, but I couldn't seem to control my character very well, so I never did enjoy it very much :/

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]