Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath

by CareForceOne - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play as a knight and defeat the demon.

I hope you enjoy my game :D

Created by Matt Visconti

My Twitter: https://twitter.com/Matt_Vis

EDIT: It looks like some people are having problems with the main menu being unresponsive. Give it a minute and refresh if the game seems unresponsive. If you get this bug please please give it a minute then refresh. Also let me know if your getting this issue in the comments :)

EDIT#2: I also added a downloadable windows version if the web player isn't working for you.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#374Mood3.19
#680Audio2.53
#941Innovation2.55
#950Graphics2.55
#1123Fun2.27
#1136Overall2.50
#1160Theme2.18
#1773Coolness36%

Comments

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:06am

Hmm I couldn't play it.. the web player loaded the main menu but it didn't respond to any keys or clicks :/

CareForceOne says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:29am

I just checked and it did the same for me as well. I reloaded the page a couple times and it started working again. I checked to see if my friends could play and they could with no problems. It might be a hiccup with the unity webplayer but you should be able to play if you give it a minute then refresh the page. Thanks for letting me know!

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:53am

Holy crap that was hard! I finally beat it though haha. Yeah, I think I was having the same problem with my game when I checked, what seems to work is if you click 'always run on this site' when the Unity plugin thing pops up and refresh again after doing that. I'm using Chrome for my browser btw

orangepascal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:56am

wow.. that's one tough monster to kill.. if it wasn't for the guy commenting he beat it, I wouldn't think it was possible :p

longshorts says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:08pm

I equally found it very hard as well! I may be unobservant but I found it quite hard to tell why I died as I just died when the boss performed no animation.

tiffi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Thats one short sword! -.-

gwa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Puh I died too much :) very hard

pawegio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Simple, but I like it :) However, hard.

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Might want to make the boss's attacks less frequent. Other than that, though, I love everything else!

ricklesauceur says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:04pm

very hard but the style is cool. Maybe it lacks a little bit feedback when i hit the monster because otherwise you have to constantly check the health.

congrats :)

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:22pm

That was tricky. I never thought I'd destroy that demon with my puny sword. Nice work on the player sprite.

DustyStylus says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:28am

Tough little game! I like the flame effect. Is it winnable or do I just suck? (which is entirely possible!) ;-D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]