Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Death's Masquerade

by Akihidas - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Little game where you're tasked by Death to choose one person at a party to kill in order to save everyone else. The way you do this is that you get to know each person and try and find out what they're really like *beneath the surface* (woaaaah). This will then inform you on what decision you want to make.

It's a bit thrown together, but I'm happy with it being the product of my first Ludum Dare :).
I think I've stomped most of the bugs, but we shall see won't we.
Have fun!

EDIT: Right okay so with people actually *playing* my game it's come to light that there's loads of bugs. Unfortunately the code in its current state is not great for debugging so I've called it a night and I'll leave it as is.

I'll say it's a feature, you've got to tip toe around the bugs to discover the game beneath the surface. There, genius. Go play. Have fun.

If you manage to get a working playthrough (Good luck) down then I'd love to hear what you thought.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#515Humor2.48
#665Mood2.88
#713Innovation2.85
#715Audio2.47
#921Theme2.77
#1077Graphics2.32
#1166Fun2.14
#1178Overall2.40

Comments

SFBTom says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:25am

Great concept, the movement could be faster and the text larger, but I enjoyed reading every bit of it!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:27am

Great idea. How do I get to kill Celes? She's got to go!!

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:17am

Sadly I did not make it to the point where I chose a person

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:18am

I like the potential in this, really having to learn about people and who they really are. However, maybe I'm just dumb, but I can't seem to kill anyone.

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:35am

Hi. I liked the idea, but after talking with everyone and getting a drink could not seem to get any further. I went round again and they all seemed stuck in the same bit of conversation...

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:13am

Some bugs but I rate it high when it comes to innovation.

Good job!

Kara Jayde says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Really loved this! Had a friend that played with a similar concept in college. I played through every story, my fav. was probably Enya. The only obvious choice seems to be the brony, haha ;)

porousnapkin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:18pm

This is cool! I got through the game and the ending is hard to deal with (didn't feel comfortable choosing anyone). It's great that you were able to build that emotion. I only experienced one bug and it was not game breaking.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Could not figure out how to get it to do anything besides move around?

lamphj says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Neat concept, no bugs for me at all. Text could be larger but overall a very creative game.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:51pm

I really like the idea but I couldn't designate anybody to kill. I'm on Chrome on MacOS, maybe it's a bug?

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Everythings really well done - audio, graphics, theme, mood. However I wasn't able to choose anybody. Still, great work!

quickfingers says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Great idea, I too did encounter some bugs, but I really started to get into the characters, with more polish and expansion there's definitely something here

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:17am

Neat concept, I would like to see it developed more!

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:18am

Can't read, but everything else is great

mollymus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Having the same trouble as described in some other comments, after I got that drink I couldn't do much! Enjoyed the dialog while it lasted though!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:28pm

nice idea man.. well done :)

Thorig says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:22am

Good game for your first Ludum Dare.

May 8, 2014 @ 9:48pm

I wasnt sure how to kill people, but cool graphics! I included it in part 15 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/f3WpQDAZRnI

Teesquared says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Nice take on the theme. Music fits well.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]