Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Thing Beneath the Surface

by Mman - Jam Entry

In this game you have to go out to harvest food for your family. Unfortunately there is a horrible monster stalking you, move silently, use the rocks and try to get enough food home before dark to feed your family.

Controls: A+D to move Left and right
Space to jump
Left Shift to run
Hold E at plant to harvest
P to pause


Thanks everyone for trying our game, we thought we might respond to some people's queries.

1. The monster responds to noise, so if it's close, only a little noise is needed to alert it.

2. We were unable to expand the feed your family feature as much as we would have liked, but if you do take the food back home it will remove it and feed your family.

3. The game world doesn't wrap, you have to head right to collect food, and try not to get too far away from home.

4. We wanted to make the Day/night cycle more aperant but we ran out of time in the end. :/

5. The berries do replenish faster than they were meant to, since it was meant to take more than an ingame day. :p

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#277Theme(Jam)3.35
#438Innovation(Jam)2.85
#465Graphics(Jam)3.15
#497Mood(Jam)2.84
#498Audio(Jam)2.72
#638Overall(Jam)2.70
#645Fun(Jam)2.35
#1851Coolness32%

Comments

Mman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:13am

The Audio was provided by Kyle Drysdale (KyleDAudio) thanks man it sounds great!

praporomsk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:30am

looks like an atari 2600 game :)
Good idea, but I did not really figured out how much food I need to bring back home and how much time is left until dark.

KyleDAudio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:02am

The tension is excellent.

Photon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Ah, I can see some of what you were going for with this, but it definitely doesn't feel quite there yet. How the game works is kind of cryptic and a "you died" message for game overs is pretty anti-climactic. There is somewhat an air of suspense, but it needs more fleshing out. Good try though.

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

This was a neat concept, and I liked the background art a lot, the general concept, and so on. At this point, I think there's a few things you might want to make clearer:

1. How much food you need to gather

2. That the world doesn't wrap

Since the plants seem to regenerate, I ended up going really, really far out of my way, picking up 100 food, and then getting too bored to actually return home.

The other thing is that your excellent graphical talent should probably also be extended to the user interface. As others have noted, the "you have died" screen at the end while you're still able to run around is pretty anti-climactic. However, the unfeatured bars in the upper-left corner also cut down on the established mood a bit, while they could be used to great effect to help set it.

Still, this is a nice concept. I like the idea of a sneaking game that doesn't present any enemies whatsoever until the moment of being caught.

MonsieurS says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:48pm

It wasn't really obvious for me what caused the monster to appear. I was very quiet but died nevertheless? :)

JangoBrick says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:11pm

I like your idea a lot, haven't seen anything similar at all yet. The user interface could use some work though, and the sounds behave strange sometimes. Good job anyway.

Joror says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Nice atmosphere - but wasn't sure how much food I was supposed to bring back, so it was difficult to know if I should push limits or not. The confetti monster from the deep was cool tho :D

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:28pm

The audio was pretty good and so was the tension but the interface could have used a little bit of work.

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Interesting game! Looks like you got a good start but ran out of time there at the end. I really love the art style-- made me feel like I was on Tatooine. If you were to flesh the game out a bit more, I bet it would be really cool!

Robber says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:40pm

interesting....I dig the kind of post-apocaliptic / dune setting and monster in the sand is a very nice interpretation of the theme!...could be more scary with maybe some music, right now you don't really feel the threat of there being a monster..just some weird synthesiser ambient stuff would make this a cult hit game..I was a bit disappointed that there was no actual monster as well, but the sandstorm effect was kinda cool. At a certain point I fell off the screen to the right...

Jiyambi says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:52pm

As others have said, the UI really lets the graphics down here. The game world graphics are really nice (though the walk abimation leaves much to be desired) - I especially love the particles that the monster causes. I definitely see where you were going with it, just needed to leave some more time for polish in the future. Nice entry :)

Penguincat says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:04pm

The monster's sensitivity to noise seemed a bit unbalanced - early on it would show up as soon as I tried to pick some berries, but then later, when I'd made quite a bit more noise, it would have no response at all. It's a neat concept, though, and I'd like to see it fleshed out more, particularly with your char having to provide for their family. As others have mentioned, the UI would benefit from the same awesome art you used in the rest of the game :)

BarkingCat says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Tremors: the game. Thrilling

ErikU says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:37am

I'm liking the atmosphere to the game. While the play mechanics are quite simple, it's nice to traverse the world.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]